Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Carlos from Guadalajara

Great weekend getaway

Posted 22-Jun-2015 on Hotels
Excellent couples getaway. Amazing views and friendly staff. Would come back again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
5-Sep-2015 by Federico, Hotel Management
Dear Carlos, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. And commits us to continue to improve every day our services. We remain at your service. Best Regards, Leonor Melo Almazán Gerente General.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice, rustic cabins in the mountains

Posted 2-Apr-2015
Pros: Beautiful views
Cons: update cabins, provide more wood, more staff
Location: Tapalpa is a nice village with full time flea market but do not expect many dinning options after 7PM as most close early.
Fast check in and pretty good overall service accept they provide you with a small amount of wood for the fireplace for your stay and charge 80 MXN for an amount that last a few hours at the most. There is no other form of heating. I recommend you buy the firewood in town which is around 40 MXN. Road to the hotel is horrible so do not bring a nice or expensive car. Restaurant has limited menu but good prices and bar service is very slow depending on who is working. No management on site that we could see during our visit.
3 out of 5
by graycloud from Mexico City, Mexico

careful with the altitude

Posted 8-Jan-2015 on Hotels
the hotel is nicely built, but many of the rooms are simply too far from the main dining area and the altitude (which i was not ready for) is hard to take when walking the premises. you tend to lose your breath very easily. the food is good and the staff at the restaurant tries their best. unfortunately my reservation was incorrect. i had reserved two rooms and they only had one ready. they were able to secure a second room, but only after some doing. not what i expected given i reserved two rooms, fortunately i had my reservation handy and was able to show them.
4 out of 5
by Hector from Fort Lauderdale FL

Some issues to be aware of....

Posted 4-Jan-2015 on Hotels
Initially I booked a suite, which in the booking it did not indicate that it was for a family and not a couples romantic room. I guess I overpaid, when I got there I told them and they passed me to a better room for a romantic night, I didn't even ask for the difference of the room because I was tired. The mini fridge was in terrible condition, rusted, not working properly and most importantly it was not connected to the outlet which we had to pull the fridge out and connect it. Last year when they gave us to reserves of wood for the fireplace and now just one and no matches...I would go again but would bring it these issues so that they can be addressed...oh one last thing, the sliding door to the backyard patio is unlocked so you risk somebody coming in and stealing your items...not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Mar-2015 by Federico, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience with us. I apologize for all the inconveniences you had in your visit. We are working to fix all that you mentioned, and be sure we will take care of it. And hopping you give us the opportunity to serve you again soon. Best regards. Leonor Melo General Manager
4 out of 5
by enrique from Guadalajara

Great hotel to enjoy the views in Tapalpa

Posted 25-Nov-2014 on Hotels
Very good hotel, great views and great service, the only little problem is the isolation of the hotel but is acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Feb-2015 by Federico, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comments about the Hotel Mision Tapalpa; It is a pleasure for us to provide the service you deserve. About the remoteness of the property, maybe it's an opportunity to relax and enjoy nature in its purest expression. We invite you to come back, to serve you again. Wishing you a very happy holidays! Best regards, Leonor Melo General Manager.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Guadalajara, Jalisco

Lovely weekend getaway

Posted 2-Sep-2014
Wonderful experience, the view was very nice, it was everything we expected it to be. The food is OK, not great but not bad either. The restaurant staff was very nice. People at the front desk need better training, but they were nice too. Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
by AG from las vegas

Great place

Posted 25-Nov-2013 on Hotels
Loved the hotel, clean, spacious balcony, quiet... everything we wanted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 5-Aug-2013 on Hotels
It was my only available option. I did not like that the hotel did not have a phone to talk to the hotel's lobby desk. I also did not like the food in the restaurant, it was cheap, I was expecting higher quality food. The personnel was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Oct-2013 by FGoyeneche, Hotel Management
Dear guest: First of all, let me thank you for your comment during your last visit to our property, the hotel doesn’t have phone in the rooms because it’s the hotel concept, of course we will ask to our corporate personnel to recommend it, also we are working with our food and beverage chief to have a better menu in our restaurant and improve the quality of the food, thanks again for your comments about the staff attitude Sincerely Julio Cesar Rivera Gerente General Hotel Misión Tapalpa Country Club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Great Romantic Location

Posted 17-Apr-2013 on Hotels
This is a great Romantic getaway location, the room is very cozy, it has a fireplace (wood is provided) because at night it gets a bit chilly. The surrounding area is gorgeous, everything in the area is well maintained and the view is spectacular.The only issue we had was that the mini fridge was not working properly, meaning that the dial to cool the items was not working as it should, the bedroom floor is wood and it was crackling (really loud) all the time when you walk (this is upstairs), other than this it is GREAT, I would book it again in the future. I highly recommend this location, and the town is beautiful just about 15 minutes away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice Getaway

Posted 15-Jan-2012 on Hotels
The hotel is located outside of town, driving distance away from Tapalpa. If you are looking for a quieter and fancier location, but still fairly close to town, this hotel should suit your needs. The fireplaces are nice on a cold night, the rooms are clean and very nice. The only major downside is that there is no wifi in the rooms. Don't be fooled by the description, there is no wifi in the rooms. You need to sit in their lobby to use the wifi. Aside from that everything was great.