Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Comfortable clean hotel for cheap

Posted 20-May-2017
This place is nice - has everything it needs. Not the fanciest hotel so set expectations accordingly. The neighborhood has a lot of homeless folks but no one hassled us. Lyft/uber very cheap if you don't want to walk in the area. Get a higher floor if possible because you can hear a lot of street sounds from the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Lobby is nice, rooms are not.

Posted 18-May-2017
The lobby is great, has a nice bar and coffee shop in AM- however there is a huge disconnect once you step into the elevator and it gets worse the deeper you get into the property. Rooms are barren, no counter space in the bathroom. Depressing color palette. Everything feels cheap and plasticky.and the workout room is a joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-May-2017 by Kunal-Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about the negative impression. If there is anything we can do to make up for your experience, please let us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

great esp for the price

Posted 16-May-2017
great staff and service and very clean room can't be beat for the price parts of the very nearby neighborhood are rough but that is the nature of this area in SF
Comment from Hotel Management
16-May-2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great feedback! We hope to see you again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Chicago, IL

Kind of adequate Tenderloin hotel with ample noise

Posted 9-May-2017
Pros: Staff were nice.
Cons: Bedding, toilets need to be replaced with something less loud, noise level from the street
Location: Terrible location in terms of feeling safe and comfortable but otherwise good Asian food nearby and union square/downtown is a short walk.
The actual hotel room was adequate for a budget traveler--minimal, paint chipping, not particularly memorable bed, TV that works but has a lot of static/pixeled images, no air conditioning, thin comforter. This is fine but the real kicker is the noise and the location. Everything is LOUD: you can hear hear every time someone on your floor is opening/closing a door because it sounds like someone is entering yours, even on the 5th floor all the sounds from the street are very audible and you can even hear your neighbor's toilet and hairdryer. This hotel is also in the tenderloin--which makes it great in terms of accessing cheap food but unfortunate for a vacation. There are lots of homeless people nearby who you hear at 4 AM and who are very aggressive even during the day as you walk to and from your hotel. You also need to keep an eye on the ground in case you step in something "unpleasant." I would also avoid staying on a Monday if at all possible because the dumpster collection in the nearby alleyway begins at 3-5 AM. And you can hear the entire block's garbage being taken care of. It's loud. Like really really loud. And goes on for a long time. And then wakes up all the homeless people. If you can sleep through a freight train and only need a clean room with nothing else, this place should suffice.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-May-2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about your experience here. It is unfortunate that you faced several issues in just one visit with us but we are here to receive all feedback and implement positive changes in every way that we can. Thank you for sharing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from S

Great location, nice staff

Posted 9-May-2017
For the price (relative to other hotels in San Fran), this hotel was great. Good location right near union square (makes it easy to access straight off the train from the airport) and the staff were friendly. The room was nothing amazing but comfortable and had everything one could want.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-May-2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our amenities and the convenient location. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel, noisy!

Posted 8-May-2017
Pros: The staff was super nice, closeness to Union Square-food and shopping. The decor was really cool.
Cons: The ventilation, only one window was operable in our room and the noise level between rooms and from plumbing/pipes.
Location: Close proximity to Union Square shopping and food was nice, unfortunately the area is over crowded with homeless people which is very sad.
The hotel staff was very nice, the room was clean with minimal commodities. Due to the fact that its an older building, the plumbing noise was loud, you could hear people flushing their toilets and even the conversations in the rooms next to us. Does not have AC therefore we had to rely on natural ventilation (open windows) but all the pollen got in. The hummingbird garden was a nice touch and take advantage of the exercise room, it has a Peloton bike!!
Comment from Hotel Management
10-May-2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again in the near future
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Posted 3-May-2017
Good for an alternative to an overprice conference hotel. Walking distance to the Moscone Center
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from seattle

Do not stay here! Next door to a HOMELESS shelter!

Posted 27-Apr-2017
The building is old. Paper thin walls. Uneven floors. Bathroom the size of a small closet. Peeling paint on walls. They only thing going for this hotel is comfortable bed and sheets. The photos make this place look hip and cool- it is not.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-May-2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you had such an experience. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make it better for you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Don't stay here.

Posted 21-Apr-2017
Please do not stay here. I should've stayed at the Hilton. 1. Came into a blazing hot room. the radiator was cranked all the way up and the hotel didn't bother turning it off. This is when we realized there was NO AC. So we desperately open the windows. They only open a few inches, and the first window was broken. Also, the window doesnt lock. 2. DIRTY TOWELS. Yellow stains, brown stains. Tiny hairs, long hairs. We called to get them switched, and the second batch was worse. Third time we went down to ask for new clean towels bc the phone wouldnt work. The man at the desk didnt even care. Kept clicking away on his computer.They finally brought up another set, and a long piece of hair was folded into it. Gross.. by then we just gave up. 3. Elevators take forever. Ask for a lower level if you must stay here. 4. This hotel is located in tenderloin. People don't harass you for the most part if you keep moving and don't give them attention, but it definitely doesn't feel safe even during the day. At night you hear a lot of screaming and crying from the room. 5. Smells like marijuana in the hotel. Probably the neighbors smoking, but it was getting into our room. The manager (?) had said she would handle this for us. 6. Room doesn't look as clean, bright, & spacious as advertised. In conclusion, it was a waste of money and the only downside to my vacation. Id rather pay triple the rate and stay somewhere clean, safe, and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Apr-2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay at our hotel. These are some serious concerns that you have expressed and we will address the issues promptly. I appreciate your honest feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Southern California

No parking anywhere and close car parks all full.

Posted 20-Apr-2017
I had delay at airport. Got to room with two grandchildren at 3:30 a.m. while checking in I was told valet parking was full, and to walk across the dangerous street due to prostitutes, street people, and homeless to go and see if the car park was full. I went and checked car park, it was full. I checked other car parks, they were full. I went back to hotel where by now I had been awake for almost 24 hours due to the SF airport delays; I was told by the front desk clerk that I couldn't leave my car parked in the front valet area. I would have to park on the street, but would have to move my car in 1-1/2 hours due to street-sweepers; meaning I would only get 1-1/2 hours sleep. While explaining to the clerk that we were very tired a prostitute with her customers came in and with my granddaughters in their presence they were groping each other and the clerk did nothing. I decided at this point that this hotel was not a safe place and there was no where to park and the clerk showed no concern, as a matter of fact, she was sarcastic. I will never recommend such poor customer service to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Apr-2017 by Kunal - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, I'm sorry you had such trouble finding overnight parking in downtown. On rare occasions, the parking lots in the area do get filled up and in those cases, due to street cleaning schedules, it becomes very difficult for us to even suggest alternatives. If there is anything we can do to make it up to you, please do let us know. We have of course provided you with a refund already. Thank you