Ratings based on 660 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Northern CA

Trendy converted motel for Hipsters

Posted 6-Aug-2017
Pros: Great location. Easy to walk to the beach and town center. Fun beer garden.
Cons: Air conditioning. Lowering the sinks and installing a flexible shower head. Closing the beer garden earlier.
Location: Nice beach access to Lakeside beach. We went hiking. Casinos were smokey but fun and had great people watching. Great burgers at Lucky Beaver!
Clearly an older Lake Tahoe motel that has been revamped and updated. Nicely redecorated rooms, but no air conditioning and ceiling fans that were unusable at night due to squeaking noise. The bathroom was very clean, with nice towels but obviously designed for only tall people. I needed a step stool to wash my face and brush my teeth if I didn't want to get water all over the counter. The shower was very small. A large man would have problems. But it could work if it had a flexible shower head. As it was, I had to be standing up against the far wall of the shower to get my head into the water spray. Great beer garden. We chatted with some locals around the fire pit over a beer. It did get a little loud late at night, especially since we had to leave our windows open to try and cool the room down so we could sleep. Hearing people vomit at 2:00 am isn't the best for sweet dreams. We were in town for a meeting and were out of our room in the morning by 7:00am and didn't return until 5:00 pm. Housekeeping hadn't cleaned our room yet. We saw the cart in the hall and assumed they were finishing up our floor but they never came to our room. Overall, someone younger may be willing to overlook a few inconveniences. For me, I'll pay a little more to be comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
8-Aug-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback as we use all the information we gain to make the property better. It seems you were able to go to the beach as well as visit the casinos during your stay. Being close to the nightlife can make it a little loud for some people and as you said it may be better for the younger guest. I would suggest visiting us in the Fall when it cools off and the crowds lessen. We always appreciate feedback from guests, and we hope to see you again in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller from France

A very friendly hote

Posted 4-Aug-2017
Staff very cool. Good situation !! and room clean Very good for a family with to kids
Comment from Hotel Management
5-Aug-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our friendly staff. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from San Diego. CA

Hip hotel with some maintenance needs

Posted 26-Jul-2017
Pros: location, theme
Cons: maintenance, look of the overall hotel. Room fixtures broken and worn, parking area stairs super dirty, lawn is sparse, chairs broken outside
cute place, but the hotel looks a little worn, not as well maintained as pictures show. still a good deal in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the hip feel of the property. We did have a harsh Winter that lasted into early Summer so some of the issues will be fixed in the near future.Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Ca

Cozy hotel

Posted 10-Jul-2017
We stayed in the family room, it was cute. Breakfast downstairs was yummy! We went during the 4th of a July, so obviously parking was horrendous and so was the noise. Overall, a nice place to stay in Tahoe! Super close to casinos and beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay here at Basecamp! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your room. Thanks again for your kind words. I hope your travels bring you back this way soon! - “so glad you chose to celebrate the 4th with us”
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Disappointing

Posted 26-Jun-2017
Pros: Had been excited by the 6 in one room, but overall disappointed.
Cons: Everything
Location: Walking distance to Heavenly Village.
I had been excited to have the family room which fit 6. But, upon arrival we found the garbage not emptied and the dirty towels still hanging in the bathroom. Had they even cleaned the bathroom? The in shower shampoo, conditioner and body wash were all empty, and remained empty for the duration of our stay. They did leave us a one inch by one inch square soap for the sink. No ice machines, you need to ask the front desk or at the bar. The breakfast was horrible. One waffle machine that broke by the second day. White or wheat bread and packets of jelly and peanut butter. The jelly was gone by day 2. No Air-conditioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jun-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay. I have addressed the challenges with your with our housekeeping staff. We have ordered an ice machine for the guest which will alleviate the trip to the lobby for ice. We are glad you enjoyed the surrounding areas and were to see Tahoe during the Summer which can be a little warm. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NY

Cute place - very comfortable.

Posted 1-Jun-2017
Could use some better signage to find your way around the place,but very cute and live music in the courtyard at night with campfires. Close walk to the stores and restaurants- right in the heart of town. And across the street from casinos if that's what you like.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from s

Basecamp is a nightmare

Posted 29-May-2017
I have stayed here before,and between $80-150 this hotel is reasonably priced. I chose to stay here @$229 a night and my mistake began the moment I booked,there were other options at that price point with better amenities but I liked the "vibe" and style of the hotel from previous experiences. Let's begin with the problems at hand in order. We had a "deluxe " room with a fireplace and got a room with no fireplace. The room smelled liked wet moldy clothes when we entered. We tried to speak to the front desk agent, we asked for a new room but we're informed there were not any other rooms available and that this was what we had reserved. No apologies were made ,there was no attempt to fix it later and no follow up at all the next morning. We spoke to the young blonde lady at the front desk the next afternoon​ and we were told there was nothing she could do. That they were over booked. (Even do hotels tonight and Expedia kept listing rooms available) this was a very disappointing, it felt like she didn't even try. Over all the staff seems to suffer from some sort of "I am too cool to talk to you because I work here attitude" and the only helpful person was the front desk manager the day we checked out.She was kind to inform me she couldn't do anything but she felt sorry about our experience.This is by far unacceptable considering the many options available within the south lake Tahoe region let alone the Tahoe basin. other issues, there was no phone,bad wifi,
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Jun-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Basecamp. We always value feedback that can help us improve our operations. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is always our goal to create raving fans of Basecamp by providing amazing guest service in a great location, we missed the mark with your stay. We have looked into your issues with communication from the front desk and have mentored the appropriate staff on how to deal with such issues. I have also worked with housekeeping on alleviating any further issues with and odor from the room. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to bring Basecamp to the next level in customer service. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.
3 out of 5
by Don

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 4-May-2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Louis

Posted 25-Apr-2017 on Hotels
carpet had 2-3 wet spots in our room. we noticed because our socks were wet after walking on the carpet. we could see the water stains visually, each was about 2 sq ft in size. we didn't know if they were water or urine from pets.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from San Francisco

Noisy wall heater ruined everything

Posted 18-Apr-2017
My bf and I were on a weekend ski trip and chose to stay at this hotel for its great location and reasonable price. The room was clean and bed was super comfortable. Everything looked just perfect until we found out how annoying the wall heater really was. It was LOUD when the air kept blowing out of it, which was one thing we had to deal with since the room was pretty cold. That's not the worst part however, the nightmare happened when we turned it off in the midnight. This old machine somehow started to produce a sharp humming sound and would not stop. It was worse than any humming sound I have heard and was literally driving me crazy. We tried to call the front desk, but nobody answered the phone 4am in the morning. At last we decided to turn it on again, even though the room was hot and dry but that was still better than being tortured by another few hours. I am a light sleeper and hate this kind of noise, but even my boyfriend, who sleeps like a log every time taking an airplane, found it unbearable. Not sure if it was just our room or it was common in all the rooms of this hotel, but I guess I will never come back here.