Ratings based on 986 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Michigan

Dissapointing

Posted 11-Aug-2017
Pros: Hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. Right on the beach. Good location.
Cons: Room updates. More elevators. Bigger dining area with more breakfast choices and better quality food.
Location: Downtown Traverse City. Grand Traverse Hotel with three golf courses and a spa. Local wineries and excellent restaurants
The hotel is in a good location and right on the beach. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. However, the rooms and facilities are in need of updating. The suite was a very awkward layout, with the Jacuzzi taking up a good part of the space. Breakfast choices were very minimal and the dining area is very small. Biggest complaint by far is the that there is only one elevator on one side the hotel. There were occasions where we had to wait up to five minutes. The hotel cleaning staff also uses the one elevator, further compounding the problem, as the carts took up a large amount of space.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Aug-2017 by Jonathan P., General Manager , Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you for your review and stay! I'm glad you enjoyed our curteous staff and many of our amenities. I'm sorry that the room type you had wasn't to your liking. We do have 24 other rooms types that may work better for you. In regarda to our elevator, we do have one servicing our main building and another servicing our luxury suites and studios in our second building. The main building does get a lot of use from time to time and I'm sorry this was so inconvenient to you. I appreciate your review. Have a nice end of summer! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Michigan

Kind staff, beautiful views, cozy room

Posted 26-Jul-2017
The staff here is so kind and accommodating. The hotel rooms are comfortable and cozy. Breathtaking views of the bay! Gorgeous sandy beach with chairs, a playplace for kids and a bonfire pit. 24 hour coffee bar with regular, decaf and flavored coffee: yum! Nice continental breakfast! Board games, video games and movies to borrow! This is a great place for families! I cannot say anything bad about this hotel! It's the best!!
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Jul-2017 by Jonathan P., General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay! I'm happy you had a great time with our staff, our views, our beach, our play ship, our bonfire pits, our 24-hour coffee, our breakfast, and so much more. We're fortunate to have guests like you. Thanks for sharing the nice pictures, too! Have a great day! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

It was too crowded

Posted 10-Jul-2017
Pros: the balcony
It was ok, too many people there. The breakfast was great. I liked the nice big room.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2017 by Jonathan P., General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you for your review and stay. I'm sorry that the festival time proved to be a bit much during your stay. With all of our freshwater beaches, activities, and more, it does get busy, but we can always help you find a quiet spot in the area. I'm glad you liked our breakfast and your room. Have a great summer and do come visit again perhaps in a slower time of the year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from ohio

Great hotel on the beach

Posted 28-Jun-2017
The hotel is very convenient and our room faced the bay with a nice balcony so we could see the sun set over the bay. The breakfast was excellent with a great variety including wonderful waffles with a delicious cherry sauce To put on them if you so desired. Staff was very friendly and helpful both at check in and check out. We would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Jul-2017 by Jonathan P., General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you so much for your stay and your review. I'm glad you loved the view overlooking the bay, enjoyed our breakfast, and found our staff to be very friendly. We'd be happy to welcome you back. Thank you and have a great summer! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Kris

Perfect location, Wonderful Place to Stay.

Posted 20-May-2017 on Hotels
This was an excellent place to stay. Cleanliness is a must have for me, this entire place was clean. The room was spacious and we had a patio that walked out to the beach which was perfect for relaxing. The pool and hot tub was spotless. There are no negatives for this place. I highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-May-2017 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you so much for your kind review and especially for staying with us! I'm glad you found our hotel to be excellent - from our cleanliness, our spaciousness, and our lack of negativness! :) I really appreciate your recommendation, and I hope you have a great end of spring and can come visit again soon! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
by David

Great stay.

Posted 16-May-2017 on Hotels
Staff was amazing. Nice little touches everywhere from chocolate chip cookies to complimentary use umbrellas. Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-May-2017 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Good day, David! Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our special touches during your time visiting Traverse City! We'll be glad to have you return. Thank you! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Lynne

A TV in the Mirror!!

Posted 15-May-2017 on Hotels
Wonderful place to stay- staff so friendly. Rooms and facilities very clean. Great breakfast. Comfortable beds. Updated rooms. Large bathroom. Free shuttle. Would highly recommend this hotel to others!! And how cool to have a TV in the mirror of your bathroom!!
Comment from Hotel Management
29-May-2017 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay, Lynn! So glad you had a great time and especially enjoyed the TV mirror! Thank you for your recommendation. For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
by John

Great motel!

Posted 4-May-2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying her to others! Location, staff and breakfast excellent. Some maintenance items could use some repair or tlc. Such as room 404: manual security latch hook on door broken, trim around bathroom mirror shows water damage, parking lot small.
Comment from Hotel Management
9-May-2017 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay, John! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, staff, and breakfast. I apologize for the maintenance items and we will address those promptly. Thank you and have a great spring! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Douglas

Perfect Location

Posted 29-Apr-2017 on Hotels
Very clean and comfortable rooms. Great shower pressure. Phenomenal views of the lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
1-May-2017 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay, Douglas! So glad you enjoyed our cleanliness, our location, our water pressure, and views. Sounds like you had a great time at our hotel and I hope you had fun in the area. Thank you and have a great spring! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Nora

Posted 24-Apr-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Apr-2017 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Nora! Have a great spring! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager