expedia

Photo gallery

Featured image
Living area
Living area
Desk, linens
Desk, linens

Guest reviews

3.5 out of 5 Good
18 reviews
Guests rated this property 4.1/5 for cleanliness.

Popular amenities

Free WiFi
Air conditioning
Laundry

Cleaning and safety practices

  • Cleaned with disinfectant
  • 48-hour vacancy between guest room stays
  • Hand sanitizer provided

Map

Explore the area

Popular LocationUniversity of Winnipeg4 min walk
Popular LocationWest End Cultural Centre6 min walk
Popular LocationWinnipeg Art Gallery7 min walk
AirportWinnipeg, MB (YWG-Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson Intl.)14 min drive

Choose dates to view prices

Single Room

  • 200 sq ft
  • City view
  • Sleeps 1

VIP Suite

  • 600 sq ft
  • City view
  • Sleeps 2

Double Room

  • 600 sq ft
  • City view
  • Sleeps 2

About this area

Winnipeg

Located in Winnipeg, University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel is in the city centre. West End Cultural Centre and Winnipeg Art Gallery are cultural highlights, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit Forks Market. Looking to enjoy an event or a match while in town? See what's going on at Bell MTS Place.
Visit our Winnipeg travel guide
View in a map
Popular Location

What's nearby

  • University of Winnipeg - 4 min walk
  • West End Cultural Centre - 6 min walk
  • Winnipeg Art Gallery - 7 min walk
  • Portage Place - 8 min walk
  • Manitoba Provincial Archives - 8 min walk

Getting around

  • Winnipeg Union Station - 6 min drive
  • AirportWinnipeg, MB (YWG-Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson Intl.) - 14 min drive

Restaurants

  • Homer's - 5 min walk
  • Stella's Cafe And Bakery - 5 min walk
  • Dessert Sinsations Cafe - 6 min walk
  • Mooshiro - 6 min walk
  • Feast Café Bistro - 6 min walk

About this property

University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel

Hostel in Winnipeg, walk to University of Winnipeg
This smoke-free hostel features a microwave in a common area, a fridge in a common area and a meeting room. WiFi in public areas is free. Other amenities include laundry facilities, express check-out and a fireplace at reception. All 198 rooms offer showers, desks and free toiletries.
University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel offers 198 forms of accommodation with air conditioning. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. Housekeeping is provided on a weekly basis.

Cleaning and safety practices

Enhanced cleanliness measures

Disinfectant is used to clean the property
High-touch surfaces are cleaned and disinfected

Social distancing

Contactless check-out
Cashless transactions are available for all charges at the property
Guest rooms kept vacant for 48 hours between stays
Social distancing measures in place

Safety measures

Personal protective equipment worn by staff
Masks are required at the property
Hand sanitiser provided
This information is provided by our partners.

Property amenities

Internet

  • Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Family friendly

  • Laundry facilities

Conveniences

  • Lift

Guest services

  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Housekeeping (weekly)
  • Laundry facilities
  • Luggage storage

Languages spoken

  • English

Business services

  • 1 meeting room

Accessibility

  • If you have any requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.
  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility
  • Roll-in shower

More

  • Fireplace in reception
  • Shared microwave
  • Shared fridge
  • Smoke-free property

Room amenities

Bedroom

  • Air conditioning
  • Climate control (heating)
  • Linens

Bathroom

  • Free toiletries
  • Shower
  • Towels

More

  • Desk

Policies

Check-in

Check-in between 3:30 PM and 10:00 PM
Late check-in subject to availability
Minimum check-in age - 18

Check-out

Check-out before 10 AM
Late check-out subject to availability
Express check-out

Special check-in instructions

The front desk is open daily from 3:30 PM - 10:30 PM
To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation
If you are planning to arrive after 9:30 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation
Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions; front desk staff will greet guests on arrival

Access methods

Staffed front desk

Pets

Pets not allowed (service animals welcome)

Children and extra beds

Children are welcome
Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
Cots (infant beds) are not available

Property payment types

Important information

Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at the time of service, check-in or check-out.

  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy
Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed
Only bookings from non-local guests are accepted; guests whose residence is within the same state as the property will not be allowed to check in

We should mention

Alcohol is not served at this property

Property is also known as

University Winnipeg Downtown Hostel
University Winnipeg Downtown
University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel Winnipeg

Frequently asked questions

Can I cancel my reservation for free at University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel and receive a full refund?
Yes, University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel offers free cancellation on select room rates, because flexibility matters! Please refer to University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel cancellation policy on our site for more details about any exclusions or requirements.
Is University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel pet-friendly?
No, only service animals are welcome at the property.
What time is check-in at University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel?
Check-in is from 3:30 PM to 10:00 PM. Late check-in is available during limited hours.
What time is check-out at University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel?
Checkout is at 10 AM. Late checkout is available for a fee (subject to availability).
Where is University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel located?
Located in the heart of Winnipeg, this hostel is within a 10-minute walk of University of Winnipeg, West End Cultural Centre and Winnipeg Art Gallery. Royal Winnipeg Ballet and Manitoba Legislative Building are also within 15 minutes. Winnipeg Union Station is 23 minutes by foot.
3.5
Good
5 - Excellent
5
4 - Good
5
3 - Okay
3
2 - Poor
4
1 - Terrible
1

4.1/5

Cleanliness

3.5/5

Staff & service

3.5/5

Amenities

3.6/5

Property conditions & facilities

2/5 Poor

Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019

5/5 Excellent

Business traveller
Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
RA was very helpful!
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2019

2/5 Poor

Sad face IconDisliked: Staff & service
Nobody works here in person...
There are systemic problems. Management responded relatively quickly to problems with lack of emergency numbers to call if there are no staff at the reception desk and the door is locked (and also compensated me for the serious problems that I had). However, there continued to be a lack of staff on the premises. You have to have a cell phone that is charged so that you can call a number and leave a voicemail, then you have to wait for someone to call you back. The lack of staff at the office, even during the posted (and very limited) office open hours is insurmountable if you need staff for any reason.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2019

5/5 Excellent

Travelled with partner
Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice staff Interesting experince for people like me who never stay in a dorm
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019

3/5 Okay

Business traveller
Happy face iconLiked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Sad face IconDisliked: Staff & service
The property is a typical university residence but a little over priced since parking is a problem and the staff were not really professional. The lack of WiFI in the rooms and lack of plug ins was a problem. It is marginally cheaper than a hotel and more expensive than university residences in downtown London (UK). For me, the value for money was not great and I’d suggest that an Air B&B or regular hotel is a better option.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019

Stay in the know with the Expedia app

Get real-time notifications, view your trip details, and access mobile-only deals.

Text yourself a download link

By providing your number, you agree to receive a one-time automated text message with a link to get the app. Standard text message rates may apply.