expedia
Photo gallery

Reviews

3.6 / 5Good
17 reviews

Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking Available
  • Laundry

Map

What's nearby

  • Popular Location
    University of Winnipeg
    4 min walk
  • Popular Location
    West End Cultural Centre
    6 min walk
  • Popular Location
    Winnipeg Art Gallery
    7 min walk
  • Airport
    Winnipeg, MB (YWG-Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson Intl.)
    15 min drive

Choose dates to view prices

Book online or call:

1-866-500-4938
  • Single Room

    Room Amenities

    • City view
    • Sleeps 1
    More details
  • Double Room

    Room Amenities

    • City view
    • Sleeps 2
    More details
  • VIP Suite

    Room Amenities

    • City view
    • Sleeps 2
    More details

About this area

Winnipeg

Located in Winnipeg, University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel is in the city centre. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Canadian Museum for Human Rights, while those who have shopping on the agenda may want to visit Forks Market and Polo Park. Kid City and Assiniboine Park Zoo are also worth visiting.

Popular Location

What's nearby

  • University of Winnipeg - 4 min walk
  • West End Cultural Centre - 6 min walk
  • Winnipeg Art Gallery - 7 min walk
  • Royal Winnipeg Ballet - 11 min walk
  • Manitoba Legislative Building - 12 min walk

Getting around

  • Winnipeg Union Station - 7 min drive
  • Winnipeg, MB (YWG-Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson Intl.) - 15 min drive

About this property

University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel

Hostel in Winnipeg, walk to University of Winnipeg
This smoke-free hostel features a microwave in a common area, a fridge in a common area and a meeting room. WiFi in public areas is free. Other amenities include self parking, laundry facilities and express check-out. All 198 rooms offer showers, desks and free toiletries.
University of Winnipeg Downtown Hostel offers 198 forms of accommodation with air conditioning. Bathrooms include a shower and complimentary toiletries. Housekeeping is provided on a weekly basis.

Property amenities

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking and public transport

Self parking (surcharge)

Family friendly

Laundry facilities

Conveniences

Lift

Guest services

Front desk (limited hours)
Housekeeping (weekly)
Laundry facilities
Luggage storage

Languages spoken

English
French

Business services

1 meeting room

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.
Accessible bathroom
In-room accessibility
Roll-in shower

More

Fireplace in reception
Shared microwave
Shared fridge
Smoke-free property

Room amenities

Bedroom

Air conditioning
Climate control (heating)
Linens

Bathroom

Free toiletries
Shower
Towels

More

Desk

Policies

Check-in

Check-in between 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Late check-in subject to availability
Minimum check-in age - 18

Check-out

Check-out before 10 AM
Late check-out subject to availability
Express check-out

Special check-in instructions

  • The front desk is open daily from 3:30 PM - 10:30 PM. <br />If you are planning to arrive after 9:30 PM, please contact the property at least 24 hours in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

Pets

  • Pets not allowed (service animals welcome)

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cots (infant beds) are not available.

Property payment types

Mastercard
Visa

Important information

Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at the time of service, check-in or check-out.

  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.
Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

We should mention

Alcohol is not served at this property.

Property is also known as

  • University Winnipeg Downtown Hostel
  • University Winnipeg Downtown
3.6
5 - Excellent
5
4 - Good
5
3 - Okay
3
2 - Mediocre
3
1 - Poor
1
4.1
Cleanliness
3.5
Service and Staff
3.5
Amenities
3.6
Property condition

5/5 Excellent

  • Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities

RA was very helpful!

Stayed 5 nights in Oct. 2019

2/5

  • Disliked: Staff & service

Nobody works here in person...

There are systemic problems. Management responded relatively quickly to problems with lack of emergency numbers to call if there are no staff at the reception desk and the door is locked (and also compensated me for the serious problems that I had). However, there continued to be a lack of staff on the premises. You have to have a cell phone that is charged so that you can call a number and leave a voicemail, then you have to wait for someone to call you back. The lack of staff at the office, even during the posted (and very limited) office open hours is insurmountable if you need staff for any reason.

Stayed 3 nights in Jul. 2019

5/5 Excellent

  • Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Nice staff Interesting experince for people like me who never stay in a dorm

Stayed 2 nights in Jun. 2019

3/5

  • Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
  • Disliked: Staff & service

The property is a typical university residence but a little over priced since parking is a problem and the staff were not really professional. The lack of WiFI in the rooms and lack of plug ins was a problem. It is marginally cheaper than a hotel and more expensive than university residences in downtown London (UK). For me, the value for money was not great and I’d suggest that an Air B&B or regular hotel is a better option.

Stayed 2 nights in Jun. 2019

5/5 Excellent

  • Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

met my expectations. Could have provided transportation info

Stayed 6 nights in Aug. 2018

Tell us how we can improve our site