Ratings based on 2,515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

below expectation

Posted 24-Oct-2016
Pros: Close to rogers arena
Cons: Not kept up. Manager on duty was unfriendly when reported. When we reported the heat not working no one ever showed up to fix
Bathroom had fixtures broken and hanging out of wall. Room heater didnt work. Bathroom was very small. Ive stayed here many times however this experience wasnt good
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromLos Angeles, CA

Average. Wouldn't return

Posted 24-Oct-2016
Pros: I only liked the free Wi-fi and available room AC.
Mediocre. Staff never cleaned the room. Hotel fitness center is a joke. There are no free/accessible amenities which I've seen at other hotels such as bottled water.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Bit dated but convenient & affordable.

Posted 24-Oct-2016
Location: Good location, close to many attractions!
Decent room, 2 in hotel restaurants to pick from. Close to major attractions like QE Theatre, BC Place and Rogers Arena.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromSunshine Coast, B.C.

Excellent location, across from BC Place

Posted 20-Oct-2016
Pros: The location.
Location: The hotel is across the street from Rogers Arena, BC Place, The Queen Elizabeth Theatre and less than a block to the SkyTrain. Great location.
I chose the Sandman because of the location. I was attending a BC Lions game with my son. I was unable to get the last ferry home, so I stayed overnight. Check in was a breeze, but when I went to my room, I was rather surprised to walk in on two women enjoying a glass of wine and watching TV, in "my room". I apologized, excused myself and went back to the lobby. The clerk apologized and gave me my own room. It was not a big deal but it could have been rather embarrassing. Otherwise, my stay was uneventful. The room was clean and fresh. We attended the football game and stopped at the Shark Club for a drink and an excellent selection of sports TV's through out the bar.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromKelowna

Old..noisy ....needs update. And fixing

Posted 20-Oct-2016
Pros: The front staff were pleasant . The location is close to main events.
Cons: As above mentioned
Location: Bc place. Queen Elizabeth theater. Rogers arena
The hotel is very dated, needing a facelift. The shower is ment for short people. The zip tie that held the lift strap brock so we had to stick our hand into the tank to flush. This happened at 11 pm so no one was available to fix the toilet. Also the windows did not keep out the road traffic.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller fromUS

Posted 19-Oct-2016
Hotel was walking distance to several places. If needed taxis everywhere along with the metro and bus. Hotel also offers car rental service, so its easy to get around. Hotel was nice and modern, with a popular sports bar Sharks and good restaurant, Moxie's. Overall, i have no complaints, i recommend staying here.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller fromNew York, NY

really messed up hotel

Posted 19-Oct-2016
Pros: none
Cons: fraud!
we booked Sandman through Expedia for 5 nights, we checked in and told front desk that our stay may vary, and we were told it is okay, they'll only charge you for the nights you've stayed. APPARENTLY that's not the case, we checked out the next day, and got charged for the night on the spot with my credit card, few days later, they CHARGED you for all 5 nights separately which we did not stay. called them directly, GUESS WHAT, we are sorry, we cannot find your record/reservation you've stayed with us. WOW! still trying to figure out how to get my money back, this is terrible if you can, stay away from this hotel as you may get charged for what you did not purchase/book
2out of 5
by A verified traveller fromT

adiquate if crude

Posted 18-Oct-2016
Location: The Canucks hockey game we came to see was an exceptional experience and well worth the trip and the poor hotel.
We had no small fridge, no tea only coffee which in itself was no big deal however when housekeeping wakes us rudely three hours before check out... I could have used that cup of tea. The window faced onto a roof where people obviously smoked and had absolutely no way of locking leaving our contents vulnerable to anyone on that roof. And the staff listened to my concerns but did nothing about them. Also after paying for our room I was shocked to be hit with an additional charge of $30.00 to park in the hotel underground parkade for one night. In short I would hesitate to stay there again.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller fromRosedale BC

Close to the hockey game!

Posted 17-Oct-2016
Pros: Good parking and location.
Cons: No charge for parking.
Location: Rogers arena, walk downtown, BC place, tons of good restaurants!
We had a lovely meal at Moxies before the game which we could walk to and after we had apply and drinks at Sharks Club but they got us the wrong order.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller fromPort Alice BC

Perfect for sporting events

Posted 17-Oct-2016
Pros: Location, location, location. And the Shark Club.
Cons: The room was adequate, in room entertainment did not have an HD TV.
Location: Downtown, minutes to BC Place and rogers Arena.
Friendly helpful front desk staff. Room was adequate, clean and comfortable. On site restaurant was very good. The best though was the Shark Club. Reasonable prices, for the city, excellent wait staff, great selection of beverages, good food and a superior place to be before and after any sporting event.