Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Chicago

Gross

Posted 25-May-2017
First room they gave me had a horrible odor. They move me to a room that had dried up stains on the table and dental floss in the toilet. I know the room wasn't clean properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-May-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. We are working with our Housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily checklists to make sure this isn't repeated. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a better experience on your next stay. Thank you. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Ok no amenities nearby

Posted 3-May-2017
Room was adequate. No supplies hallways and elevator very dirty. Pool unkempt.
Comment from Hotel Management
4-May-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for evaluating your stay. Our goal is to provide an outstanding experience for our guests, so I apologize that we fell short during your visit. Amenities for your suite is also available at the front desk to ensure cleanliness, and our team gladly delivers these items to your suite. I am concerned about your experience and have immediately brought this to the attention of our housekeeping for review and action. I hope we have the chance to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 24-Apr-2017
First we walk in through a cloud of smoke (smokers right out front), then waited over 20 minutes bc they had a shift change, then given the wrong room key... it was occupied and I apologized for interupting the couple's evening. Then there were bugs in our room (not the bed), then the grab and go breakfast had no fresh food and the coffee was horrible. I don't recommend this place, and I'm not super picky.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Apr-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your concerns. Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, so I apologize that we fell short during your visit. Your comments highlight areas where we can improve and I ensure you we will. We hope to have the chance to make a better impression on a future visit. Thanks again for your valuable feedback. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Relocating to Tampa on tight budget

Posted 3-Apr-2017
Hotel is okay, tv did not have a guide on it. Room was very basis nuts and bolts
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Apr-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit and that you were impressed with most aspects of our hotel, especially with our location. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Florida

Who died in here

Posted 31-Mar-2017
Our stay was ok here the only problem was there was a weird smell in our room. The room appeared clean but the smell was horrible. The smell wasn't any where else thru out the hotel. So I think it was just this room. That being said the staff was super friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
2-Apr-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Elisha, thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit and were impressed with the service provided by our staff. However, I am sorry for the odor you experienced with your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. I will share your feedback with my housekeeping team to ensure no future guest experiences the same. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from NJ

Won't go back to this hotel again

Posted 31-Mar-2017
Pros: Nothing
Room was ok however the bathroom had cockroach(es). The shower was horrible..very very low pressure. Malfunctioning iron in the room got me delayed for my meeting.
Comment from Hotel Management
2-Apr-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry for the disappointing stay you had with us and for the issues you had with your bathroom as well as our amenities. The condition you described is unacceptable and not at all representative of our quality standards. I have shared your concerns with the respective team at our hotel in an effort to improve our services and facilities moving forward. We invite you to come back and validate the changes we will be implementing and to experience the hospitality you expect and deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 31-Mar-2017
I would not stay at this hotel again, too outdated!
Comment from Hotel Management
1-Apr-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my apologies that our facility fell short of your standards. I will make a note of your comments as we plan to update and refresh our hotel in the future. We hope you will consider giving us another try. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 30-Mar-2017
It was a convient location with a friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Mar-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your kind review of Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and that our convenient location and courteous associates made it even better. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to be your hotel of choice every time you visit our area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Smelly hotel!

Posted 28-Mar-2017
No house cleaning for 8 days. Room smells like mold and manure.. not the best area... No hot water my first day.. I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Mar-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
jenn, we appreciate you sharing your feedback. Since we are an extended stay property, we provide housekeeping services to guests who stay eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. Regardless of the length of stay, our goal is to provide a clean and a well maintained suite, and we will take this opportunity to ensure that we are doing just that. We hope you will consider us again. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 9-Mar-2017
Perfect location - 5 minute drive to Tampa Intl. The room was clean, welcoming, and spacious. Great price for such a nice stay. Cynthia at the front desk was excellent! Friendly, efficient, and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Mar-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review filled with so many kind compliments and for letting us know you loved the value we offer! We are thrilled you were impressed with our convenient location and the courteous service provided by Cynthia. I will be sure to share your praises with her. We look forward to having you as our guest again at Extended Stay America Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy. Sincerely, General Manager