Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Sep. 20, 2019
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel to experience Umbria

Posted Sep. 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice, great location, helpful staff and nice town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from USA

Fancy hotel in a delightful small town

Posted Nov. 13, 2015
Really a high quality hotel with large comfortable rooms and beautiful facilities. Sitting rooms were particularly outstanding as was the breakfast. My only complaint is the hard beds.
4 out of 5
by Tom

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Nov. 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John L

Ideal base in Spello.

Posted Nov. 7, 2015 on Hotels
This is an ideal hotel to use as a base to explore Spello: right in the middle of the town, it is a former palazzo with frescoed ceilings and a real sense of former opulence in its public rooms.teh staff are friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Libby from Adelaide Australia

Lovely hotel in the middle of Spello

Posted Nov. 20, 2013
Pros: The lovely old sitting rooms and the outdoor area, for a drink after a long days drive overlooking the valley.
This hotel has the most beautiful patio/garden area with a stunning view of the countryside. Parking is available 1 minute from the hotel which is an asset for doing daily trips around the area knowing you have a park when you get back. Two excellent restaurants within 10 metres of the hotel. The hotel is old and the tradition of the era has been retained in the bedrooms. My room looked out over the roof tops to the church spire and the hills beyond - lovely to wake up to. The staff were very accommodating with all my queries, and recommended different places to visit. The small streets of Spello are quaint and worth an wander round all of them. I also found the locals very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Barbara from New York

Disapponted!!!

Posted Nov. 7, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything! Renovation of the rooms and bathrooms, and staff needs lessons in Hospitality101.
We visited this hotel 10 years ago. It was beautiful, clean and the staff was wonderful. We couldn't wait to return. What a surprise we got! We didn't know what happened to it! The hotel could still be beautiful with a lot of work. Our room was dirty. There was dust hanging from the walls and ceiling, and the tile floor needed a good washing. The bathroom was old with mold on the ceiling. The staff was unprofessional and indifferent. When asked a question, the front desk staff (one staff member a shift, although each had the same attitude) seemed too busy playing on their computer to give an answer. We were totally ignored. Breakfast was below average, but the woman who brought us our coffee was congenial. The hotel is in a great location, but we will not be returning, nor would we recommend it, as we have in the past.
4 out of 5
by L Rhodes from New York

Delightful Spello.

Posted Jul. 22, 2013 on Hotels
It is a beautiful hill town of Umbria. All anitquity, all beautiful and peaceful.Easy access to Assisi and Spoleto. Some fine restaurants, lovely people. I was there to visit friends who are staying in Spello for 6 months!
3 out of 5
by brooklyn612 from brisbane, australia

ideal location close to best restaurant in town

Posted May 26, 2013 on Hotels
a little disappointed for the price that i paid. described as only a short walk from the train station although it was actually a good hike and mostly uphill, however its location close to Properzo Enoteca was ideal. this is what i came to Spello for. Annoyed that i couldnt get my television to work, really needed to watch the news and see the weather. But apart from that the hotel was lovely and i enjoyed leaving my windows open and listening to the happy chatter of the local old ladies below, this is really rural Italy.
4 out of 5
by Melissa

Loved the charm

Posted Nov. 30, 2012 on Hotels
We loved the charm of this place and the location within the city center was perfect. Breakfast was nice, room was large, staff was very helpful and nice. We will definitely stay here again.