Ratings based on 1,640 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller fromnew york

Posted 20-Aug-2016
Hard to communicate guest services no good restaurants is not what you expected my overall experience is a one and half star I don't think I am going back
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having chosen as your holiday destination, and I hope you will allow me to extend our apologies for those inconveniences, occurred during your stay You may rest assured that your comments have been shared with our Management Team. We look welcoming you back to Barceló Punta Cana in the very near future and guarantee that your next visit will be more pleasurable. Best Regards, Marcos Castillo Manager Barceló Punta Cana
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromNew York City

Not a nice hotel-resort

Posted 14-Aug-2016
the pools are beautiful, the food is very good , but the rooms are terrible , the hotel needs to be renovated, my room was so old and dark . The staff ok, most of them were so nice, customer service people were not friendly and not helpful, the wifi-internet so bad, I wouldn't go back to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciated when someone takes the time to let us know their experience and observations. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience in your stay in our hotel. Our hotel has a great and hard working Maintenance Department that at all times is willing to help all the clients in any inconvenience they have. The Maintenance Department staff makes sure that everything inside and outside the hotel is in perfect conditions and well organized. For instance, they always are around the hotel supervising all the things just with the main objective to make sure nothing is scratched. Concerning to the connection to the internet will be inconvenienced; we will be working on our signal to avoid these situations. Our sincere apologies for any exception, which may have occurred in this aspect. We will continue working hard and putting our best endeavors to make the difference and to achieve your expectations for the next time. Best Regards, Marcos Castillo Manager Barcelo Punta Cana
4out of 5
by A verified traveller fromCranford, NJ

Vacación familar 2016

Posted 14-Aug-2016
Barcelo Punta Cana es un hotel muy bonito pero necesita un poquito de arreglo adentro por ejemplo los elevadores, el servicio de los meseros debe mejorar un poco, los bartenders deben aprender a preparar mejor una bebida ejemplo: Margarita ... Me encanto la variedad de cosas que se puede hacer este hotel es bastante familar y a la vez puede ser un lugar romántico. La vista desde mi habitación era increíble, la comida en especial en los buffets siempre deliciosa recomendación : en el desayuno tienen un batido o jugo de banano delicioso !!! El ares de la playa es un sueño! Honestamente si lo recomiendo y si volviera a este lugar te hacen sentir en casa.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Estimado Cliente Es un placer para nosotros que haya escogido Barcelo Punta Cana como destino para sus Vacaciones 2016. Gracias por comentar acerca de su experiencia trabajamos por la mejora continua. lamentamos los inconveniente que se pudieron presentar en relación a la bebida le pasaremos la información al proceso correspondiente para evitar que se repita. Esperamos que nos visiten nuevamente. Saludos Cordiales, Marcos Castillo Director Barcelo Punta Cana
1out of 5
by A verified traveller fromatl ga

Worst vacation ever

Posted 13-Aug-2016
Pros: Do not stays here total waste of money. The only good thing was the bar tenders and drinks.
Cons: This all inclusive hotel has way to many restrictions to be all inclusive. Only had one tennis racket for the court, the rest were broken.
This was a total nightmare, I don't think I'll ever go back. The day we arrived I reserved 2 rooms, they were not next to each other but that wasn't a big deal. There was fruit waiting for us in one of the rooms but it looks like the fruit was left out for days. We couldn't eat it, it was soggy and nasty. Our all inclusive package included food ( 5 restaurants and one buffet). We arrived in the evening time and searched for a restaurant. The staff was very rude, they said we needed a reservation which was near the check in office ( check in people did not inform us of how the restaurants work). We try to make a reservation and they tell us you have to make it the morning of for the dinner that evening. No one was helpful, we ended up eating the buffet which was terrible (terrible service also, rarely got refills on drinks). The next day we went to the pool. Was told we have to get towels on the opposite side from the towel hut. We get the towel hut to be told we need to get a towel card from the front office which we was suppose to get when we checked in which we did not. Renting water equipment was also terrible. They had certain time restrictions for the equipment. We tried to do kayaks only to be told there was only 4 available at a time with one hour restriction. There was serval kayaks tied up to tree that they said was broken and it was a first come first serve "run out there when one comes in or else someone will take it". ive run out of room to type, but overall terri
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Punta Cana Resort for your vacations. We honestly regret that you had to go through such inconveniences, which you had described, on your vacation. These incidents are certainly not within our normal standards, I wish we could have given to you a better impression in term of employee and services attitude, they are normally well known for all guest. our fruits like the rest of the ingredients that foods are used to provide the service kitchen are prepared, they are supervised by our internal quality department, who have the responsibility to choose the best, including fruits that are placed for special reasons in the rooms. We regret the lack of information that tells us there at the time of check in, I send this comment to those responsible in order to improve and correct any oversight that occurred during your stay. We look welcoming you back to Barceló Punta Cana in the very near future and guarantee that your next visit will be more pleasurable. . Best Regards, Marcos Castillo Director Barceló Punta Cana
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromNY

Posted 12-Aug-2016
Pros: Select variety of food, Housekeeping, Entertainment - Julio Iglesias and Gabriel Chocolate were the best people to hang around during our vacation!!
Cons: Management organization, check-in/check-out time, cards constantly don't work.
Location: Beach is beautiful, and clean. Always clean beach towels available. Parasailing available, tennis court, basketball, outdoor gymboree, dunebuggies.
Staff organization is a mess. It was not what we expected compared to other tropical places we've visited. Each person tells you something different from the previous. They need major improvement on organization and being timely. Restaurant staff, entertainment, and all other staff is wonderful but the management staff is very unorganized. They don't explain anything, check-in time is way too long. Expedia workers in the hotel are rude and unorganized. What we booked with Expedia, we didn't receive and we will not be booking with Expedia anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Punta Cana Resort for your Vacation Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel, I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received. We assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel, our hotel have a constant training for handling inputs and outputs of our guests, the reception department, in order to maintain the orientation of our guests in our services in general. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Best Regards, Marcos Castillo Manager Barceló Punta Cana
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

OKAY…ONLY if you are on a tight budget.

Posted 12-Aug-2016
Pros: Beach & Pool that was it...the food was terrible and the client services were very bad. Reina Rincon at the front desk was wonderful.
Cons: Client Services, The Food, Housekeeping...The list is longer than my allotted maximum characters.
I don’t like to give bad reviews but this is important because I personally rely on other travelers reviews when I book hotels. I am very disappointed with this property, Barcelo Punta Cana and I have stayed at (at least) 10 wonderful Barcelo resorts in Dominican Republic and Nicaragua over many years…so this was a real letdown. ESPECIALLY because it was my Birthday and we had such a bad five days. SCARY BEGININNG! Our driver pulls up to the security gate and I give my name and reservation. During this time the taxi company that is hanging out with the security, starts circling our car and threatening our (23 year old) driver. Because he was not with the same taxi company that tries to dominate Punta Cana (Pink shirts). We ended up outside the gate for 40 minutes feeling scared and angry with the security for allowing us, the hotel guests to go through this bullying from the taxi drivers that had nothing to do with our trip or stay. The food was very bad and they could not make proper omelets or eggs over easy. Housekeeping would take our dirty towels and not replace them with clean towels...one night we complained and waited 2 hours. Finally we used a pillow case to dry off in order to make our dinner reservation. WORST BARCELO EXPERIENCE EVER - I WILL NO LONGER REFER BARCELO TO MY FRIENDS.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Punta Cana Resort for your vacations and we are sorry for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We have done our thorough investigations about this situation in the entrance about the taxi company and the security to our hotel. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding to the food and the housekeeping services as they are usually praised for all guest, so I am investigating the reasons as to why your stay was not up to our usual high standards. We promise to investigate your case and take necessary actions. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Marcos Castillo Director Barceló Punta Cana
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromTEXAS

Excellent beach and quality food, but beware...

Posted 12-Aug-2016
Pros: Beach and food!
Cons: Processes (service requests, complaints, issues, etc.) and service (staff is not trained on how to care for customers).
Location: This hotel and the others we visited while on tours, are not typical in that you can easily walk out and go for a visit. A TAXI will be needed.
If you are looking for an incredible beach experience, this hotel will offer you that. We found the large property offered plenty of sites where we were able to find awesome spots to lay in the sun or in the shade while enjoying the incredible white sand and turquoise water; all this while the hotel was fully booked! I had experienced prior all inclusive packages and I am VERY impressed with the quality of drinks and food. Suffice it to say, I gained 10 pounds on this trip! As soon as we arrived to our room, I noticed a massive water leak in our restroom and despite my multiple requests, hours later a maintenance crew member came by, emptied the water in the ceiling and said "I'll be back...". I never saw or heard from him or ANYONE again. The leak never stopped. Two days of this and then we were locked out of our room for two hours because the battery of the door lock needed to be replaced. I spoke with guest services about this, they moved us to another room the FOLLOWING day, gave us a bottle of champagne and a fruit plate for the inconvenience. Two days into this new room and we were locked out AGAIN for the same reason. Ms. Rincon at the front desk was able to coordinate the process and allowed us to get dinner while the issue was fixed (we had to wait the first time while 5 men fixed the issue). IF you choose this hotel, KNOW you will have to be VERY patient in dealing with the staff and their processes.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller fromD

Nice hotel,poor animation

Posted 12-Aug-2016
Huge hotel,the show was good,but not the animation,poor activities during the day and night.the food is not that bad.staff members very nice.rooms very clean and comfort.the beach very good and the pools very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks so much for comment about your experience and also for the qualification. We work very hard to satisfy our guest, we will take the note about the activities. Hope you come back to have a better stay. Best Rergards, Marcos Castillo Manager Barcelo Punta Cana
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromChicago Illinois

Nicer staff

Posted 12-Aug-2016
Staff needs to work on being friendlier with hotel guest. Beach was great activities keep you entertained through out the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for coming to our property and also for your qualification and comments about your experience. We hope you visit us again. Regards, Marcos Castillo Manager Barcelo Punta Cana
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Vacation

Posted 12-Aug-2016
Great stay, great food , great Service ,the weather and hotel amenities make the difference and you cant beat the price. Will be back to next year and will recomend to family and friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Aug-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks so much for coming to Barcelo Punta Cana and also for comment about your experience. Wr hope you come back soon. Best Regards from Barcelo Punta Cana, Marcos Castillo Manager Barcelo Punta Cana