Ratings based on 1,534 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 29-Apr-2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: To renew/upgrade the facility !
Location: It is next to Hard Rock Hotel, and the nearest Shopping Mal is 15-20 minutes drive !
The staff is great, but the installation are a little bit outdated !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Maine

Excellent choice for this beach

Posted 27-Apr-2016
Pros: Hotel is close to beach and offers ocean views from many rooms, lots of food options between buffets and dining rooms.
Cons: offer a free wi-fi zone to allow the chance to check in with friends & family
Location: we went ziplining and Monkeyland tour as only excursion, both went well, easy activities for many ages.
This hotel appears to have smaller grounds than other resorts nearby but who wants to ride a golf cart train to get to the beach. This hotel has everything a person needs to relax and forget about daily life. Also the wi-fi must have been good as many people were using devices on the beach but why would you want to, isn't this supposed to be a vacation. People put down your devices and enjoy your surroundings. Your facebook friends can wait to hear about your day when you hit the pillows in your room. Biggest complaint of ours is always....the rudeness of some guests towards staff and other guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from paraguay

Me encanto! El hotel y la playa son preciosos!

Posted 26-Apr-2016
Me encanto! Todo el lindo Tiene comida variada para todos los gustos y todo el tiempo tenes donde comer y tomar Las habitaciones cómodas solo que tenían algunos problemas que nos solucionaron rápido, cuentan con personal de mantenimiento al instante Tiene teatro, piscinas enormes y limpias. Sala de juegos para bebés Lo único que acotar es que no cuentan con menú para bebés, si para niños, mi bebe de 7 meses no tenía comida a disposición, tenía que pedir en la cocina. Pedro el chef siempre me preparaba sin problemas
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Chicago

Amazing beach!!!

Posted 25-Apr-2016
Pros: Walking distance to the beach. I don't mind walking so I actually enjoyed the walk to the dinners, shows, gym pool.
Cons: Friendliness of the staff, come on it shouldn't cost anything to get a smile a good morning etc. etc. etc. Don't overwork your employees.
Location: walk walk the beach day and night its awesome, also enjoy the kayaking but if you've never done it take a quick lesson b/4 ur on ur own. its included.
Overall the beach makes up for the disappointment in everything else. But for those of you who are thinking about going to Punta Cana you have many choices. The resorts surround the beach. Staff was unfriendly unless you tipped them you would get a smile out of them, I read all inclusive includes gratuities and tips I guess not. I feel that employees are overworked. I don't like to be pressured into purchasing anything I don't want. I recommend taking a self tour around the hotel so you get familiar with the hotel and its hours of operation for pools, towels,gym,shows,restaurants etc. My fam and I love food and I can say that the food was average, drinks horrible cheapest quality of alcohol. Overall if you go to Barcelo' bring lots of sunscreen, hats,caps,goggles,snorkeling equip and have a blast. To those few employees who were nice thanks for making a difference. Oh and don't plan on purchasing anything over in Punta its overpriced and quality is not good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 24-Apr-2016
Lovely setting great food great service weather very pleasant
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Apr-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for coming to our Hotel, for your excellent and outstanding comments regarding to our hotel. We hope to share with you once again Our best wishes from Punta Cana, Director, Barceló Punta Cana.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Very high waves

Posted 23-Apr-2016
Couldn t swim in ocean due to very high and strong waves
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Apr-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We regret that the strong waves have made their negative vacation, we hope that everything else was good stay. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon. Our best regards from Punta Cana, Director, Barceló Punta Cana
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 20-Apr-2016
The food was horrible!!! Grounds and pool were nice. Small resort compared to some other ones we've been to. Wouldn't go back to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Apr-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for coming to Barceló Punta Cana hotel. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you had during the time you were staying in our hotel. Our hotel has an excellent and professional Culinary Department, which provided good quality foods for all the clients. As a result, the culinary staff is very cautious and specialized, they every single time supervised the food conditions and they provided variety foods according to the consumer needs. In fact, our food is approved by the Quality Society and certificated by the CRYSTAL certification for standardization that commends our food is healthy and balanced. We hope to have the opportunity to see you in a not very distant future. Warmest Regards Director, Barceló Punta Cana
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Minnesota

Great Hotel

Posted 19-Apr-2016
It met my expectations and was great. Loved eating at the different restaurants and enjoyed the show.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Apr-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We want to express our thankfulness for giving us the opportunity of being part of your vacation. Everything we do is with the main objective to accomplish your expectation. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon in a not very distant future. Our Best Regards Director, Barceló Punta Cana
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Atlanta, Ga

Fabulous views. Wonderful pools. Best beaches.

Posted 16-Apr-2016
Pros: The beach was the most beautiful that we have ever been to in the Carribean.
Cons: The hotel was fabulous, but not as pristine as others.
Location: We stayed at the resort and did not go out at all. It doesn't seem like there is a lot to do in the area. I think the DR is the new place to go.
We stayed at the Hard Rock All Inclusive hotel right down the beach from Barcelo Punta Cana. The Hard Rock was so big and so far to walk to everything. When we switched to the Barcelo, we were so happy to have beach views, beautiful beach front pools and the same beach at a third of the cost. We will definitely choose Barcelo Punta Cana again. The rooms were nice, definitely not 5 star, but clean and the view of the ocean was to die for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

It was more then we expected very excellent

Posted 14-Apr-2016
It was soo awesome and very nice and food was excellent i would recommend