Ratings based on 1,476 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great beach

Posted 7-Feb-2016
Pros: Staff was very good and tried very hard to please.
Cons: Communication is not their strong suit. Things the should tell you at check in are not relayed. Activities have to be discovered.
Location: Never left the property. Wanted to do an eco-tour/hike but all the excursions seemed geared towards more commercial activities.
The WORST part of this hotel was the hard sell of excursions, time-shares, etc. It seemed at every turn the were trying to get you to buy something. Second worst part was the 8 AM calls every morning from the Expedia-assigned concierge trying to get me to arrange my return ride to the airport. When I finally got around to trying to arrange it, the representative said a) it was "supposed to be done in the first 48 hours" and b) he needed 48 hours advance notice to set it up. We took a taxi called by the bellman at checkout.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from guillen

Dated,boring, no activities..

Posted 30-Jan-2016
Hotel is old school and need more activities. This hotel is more for older people who are looking for a place to relax. If you are young looking for a resort to have fun and meet different people, this isn't it. Staff are nice but hotel needs help. I would not recommend this hotel. You would think you have free wifi at least in main lobby but not the case. WiFi isn't free and even if you pay for it ,it still doesn't work. Buffet is same almost everyday. I stayed 5 days and never HD rice and beams. Go somewhere else.. not worth your money. .
Comment from Hotel Management
4-Feb-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Appreciated Guest, First, we would like to thank you for staying at Barceló Punta Cana, hotel and resorts. Secondly, we want to thank you for your significant comments which help us to improve our services and products. Furthermore, we do apologize for any inconvenience you may had during your stay with us. Moreover, our hotel is working hard and putting its best effort to bring high quality and good products to accomplish the expectations of all our clients coming to our hotel. In summary, we will continue doing our best to accomplish your expectations in the future. We will be anxious to see you again in this your house, Barceló Punta Cana. Our best regards and blessings for your family and you as well. Director, Barceló Punta Cana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 28-Jan-2016
I expect a little more.... bit the staff os crear...
Comment from Hotel Management
6-Feb-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Distinguished Guest , Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying at Barcelo Punta Cana, hotel and resorts. Secondly, we also want to thank you for your significant comentary regarding to our hotel. Furthermore, we glad you have truly enjoyed the time in our hotel. In fact, we will take your comments in consideration to improve our services and products . On the other hand, we have pleased your vacactions were an oustanding and amazing experience . We hope to have the opportunity and privilege to see you next time. Warmest Regards from Punta Cana. Director, Barcelo Punta Cana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from California

Wonderful spot!

Posted 23-Jan-2016
Pros: The space--although there seemed to be many guests at the time of our visit, we were never crowded or rushed.
Cons: There were many agents from other resorts trying to engage us into visiting their programs in other facilities. It became uncomfortable after a while
Location: Great location and they offered many activities to choose from. We enjoyed staying within the resort most of the time.
It was a wonderful experience. The resort is ample, well kept and offers many services for relaxation and fun. We enjoyed a great stay and kept busy with the many activities that they offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
5-Feb-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Estimated Guest, Firstly, we would like to thank you for coming to our paradise and unique hotel. Secondly, we also want to thank you for your significant comment which a llowed us to improve our amenities and products to achieve customer satisfaction. Futhermore, we do apologise for any inconvenience you may had during your stay whit is. Our hotel is working hard and putting its best endeavors to provide high quality services to achieve customer satisfaction. Moreover, we glad you have truly enjoyed our location and resort in general . For sure, we will continue working hard to elevated your expectations for the next time. Lastly, we hope to have the opportunity to see you again in a not very distant future. Our best regards and blessings from Punta Cana. Director, Barcelo Punta Cana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great hotel right next to a beautiful beach!

Posted 19-Jan-2016
I recently went with a couple of girlfriends and we had the best time here. All of the entertainers were so much fun and friendly, as well as the rest of the staff. The food and drinks were pretty good, lots of options to choose from! Would definitely come back again and reccommend to others! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jan-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Distinguished Guest, On behalf of Barceló Punta Cana hotels and resorts; we would like to thank you for choosing us as a preference destination for your holidays. We also want to thank you for your exceptional comments regarding to your experience in our hotel. Moreover, we glad you enjoyed everything that you expected form our hotel; your comfort is our main objective to succeed. In addition, we hope to have the opportunity and happiness to see you again. Our best wished and lots of love from Punta Cana Director, Barceló Punta Cana
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from col

Terrible hotel,the staff isn`t polite

Posted 13-Jan-2016
Terrible experience Midlands room was flooded.I chance the room and in the other one the keys foesn`the work.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jan-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Estimated Guest, On behalf of our hotel, we would like to thank you for coming at Barceló Punta Cana hotel. We also want to thank you for your comments; which are very useful for us to get better. Furthermore, we do apologize for any inconvenience that you have faced during your stay; this is not our policy, our hotel is working hard and putting its best efforts to satisfy the need of the costumers. Lastly, we will continue doing our best as much as we can to perform well and to achieve your expectations. Best Regards, Director, Barceló Punta Cana
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 13-Jan-2016
Poor customer service, difficult communication if your American , needs updating all around. Beach area beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jan-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Appreciated Guest, First, we would like to thank you for coming to our hotel. Second, we also want to thank you for your significant comments which are very helpful for us to improve our services and products. Furthermore, we do apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us; our hotel is working hard and putting its best effort to get better. On the other hand, our hotel has an educated and professional Customer Service that has excellent communications skills and they are more likely to perform well and to support all the clients in everything their need. Lastly, we hope to have the opportunity to see you again and to achieve your expectations. Warmest Regards, Director, Barceló Punta Cana
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

beautiful hotel ,

Posted 9-Jan-2016
the beach was perfect, the water so clean and warm , the pool was beautiful ,the entertainment group was so much fun especially alex he was wonderful. and the food was very good they have very good and creative cooks in this resort I had a great time
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Jan-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Distinguished Guest, We would like to thank you for staying at Barceló Punta Cana ; we also want to thank you for your interesting and outstanding comments. We glad you have enjoyed our gorgeous pool, great entertainment, excellent food and others things like : Your satisfactions is our principal key to became one of the best hotel in the Dominican Republic. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in a not very distant future. Our best regards and lots of love from Punta Cana, Director, Barceló Punta Cana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Miami, FL

Customer service was great

Posted 9-Jan-2016
We had requested a remodeled room but when we first got to the hotel, they gave us a non remodeled one. After going back and forth with them, they gave us a newly remodeled one and our stay was great. Any little thing that needed fixing, they took care of it right away. Overall the hotel was good, food was good and proximity to the beach was awesome. I recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jan-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Distinguished hotel, We want to thank you for coming to our paradise and unique hotel. We also want to thank you for your important comments. Moreover, glad that our customer Service makes a good impressions and performed well; they very responsible, professional and approachable. They are always willing to support all the clients and to satisfy their need. Lastly, we hope to see you again soon, Best Regards, Director, Barceló Punta Cana
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice beach, horrible staff and room service

Posted 8-Jan-2016
Pros: Beach
Cons: - Staff really non-helpful - Had to change room because of noises - Room cleaning didn't happen
- Nice beach - Staff really non-helpful - Had to change room because of noises - Room cleaning didn't happen
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jan-2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Appreciated Guest, On behalf of our hotel, we want to thank you for staying at Barceló Punta Cana hotel. We also want to thank you for your comments; your opinions for us are very significant because it help us to improve our services and products. Furthermore, we do apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay in our hotel. Our hotel is putting its best effort to provide high quality and excellent services to satisfy the needs of our consumer. Moreover, our staffs are very professional, pleasant and educated; they are always willing to support the clients and to make sure they are satisfied with the amenities. Lastly, we hope for the next time to achieve your expectations. Best Regards, Director, Barceló Punta Cana