Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Salt Lake City, Ut

Not worth the price paid!

Posted 24-Aug-2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness or the look of it. Clean the carpets
Location: Loved being by the outlets and trails
We loved the location of the condo. The carpets and bed spreads were stained so even if they were clean it was gross to look at we kept our shoes on. The pool and hot tub were disappointing and we did not use them. I think it was a little high priced for what the conditions were and amenities. Once we removed the bed spreads the queen bed were comfortable but the twin beds hard as a rock. We did like the convenience of why we were there and having a place to hang out which is hard to do in a Hotel room. Overall it was ok!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveller

Posted 31-Jan-2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
9-Feb-2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive ranking! Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

One of the best condominiums I've ever been to.

Posted 31-Dec-2014
Location: centrally located to restaurants stores and ski areas.
Everything was high standard . This condominium had anything to make your stay away from home, feel like home. I
Comment from Hotel Management
2-Jan-2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review. Individually owned and managed condos are a great way to have a home away from home experience. We look forward to your next visit. Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveller

Great breakfast!!

Posted 24-Nov-2014 on Hotels
Newer property. Clean room. Not the greatest location but could walk a ways to Trax. Great breakfast! Tiny outdoor pool not great for Utah weather.
Comment from Hotel Management
9-Jan-2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review. We manage a number of properties with different sized pools and a variety of amenities. Please be sure to inquire about the different options so we are sure you meet all you needs int he future. We look forward to having you back. Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catherine from Pleasant hill. Ca.

Park city

Posted 29-Oct-2014 on Hotels
Ok. The fireplace did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
2-Jan-2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please contact the front desk any time you have any maintenance issues and we will send a maintenance technician to assist you. We hope you chose to stay with us again int he future. Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 18-Oct-2014
Great location, good parking, convenient kitchen and washer/dryer, plus pool/hot tub...and trails close by, not to mention the outlet mall next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
2-May-2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bob from SLC

almost made it

Posted 10-Aug-2014 on Hotels
Great use of space. Large rooms with a great kitchen. Kids loved the loft. However our unit was lacking in basic maintenance; burned out lightbulbs, toilet that wobbles and won't turn off, shower curtain that is torn and doesn't fit the over sized tub, torn carpet, squeaky ceiling fan. Also No AC which wasn't great in August. Checking in and out at a separate location was also inconvenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Oct-2014 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Crest View Condominiums. I hope that during your stay you contacted the front desk in hopes of fixing the disrepair, we are always striving to make your stay feel like a home away from home and we will make the necessary repairs.We apologize that the heat during your stay was above average and hope that it did not influence your stay too greatly. Being in the mountains on average the temperatures are cooler, thus most homes/condos are not equipped with AC, however we know that this is not always the case and hope that we can accommodate when we can.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

Posted 4-Aug-2014 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Oct-2014 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback. I'm sorry to see that you were not pleased with your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our accommodations. I hope that you will stay with us again so that we can try to redeem ourselves. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Still loving it

Posted 1-Jul-2014
This is our fourth year staying at crestview condos & every year we love it. There hasn't been a condo that we didn't love. We go as a girls weekend & we hope to keep staying here at crestview. There's plenty of room for all of us, we love the closeness of outlet mall & other great stores.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Feb-2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crest View time and again. We love to see you each year and look forward to your next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Tyler from Utah

Eh.

Posted 4-Jun-2014 on Hotels
Check in staff was great. However upon arriving at my condo, all the furniture was stacked and piled in the kitchen like no one had cleaned or visited in months. Other than that it was decent. Its been a week and the hold on the incidentals they charged me still hasnt been released though. Thats pretty annoying.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Aug-2014 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. At the end of every winter season we do a deep cleaning on each unit and I can only assume that is why the furniture was not placed in its appropriate location, for which I apologize. I hope the hold on your card was taken care of as well. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and once again thank you for the feedback!