Ratings based on 5,609 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from montreal

Room need update we are in 2017 not 1980

Posted 24-Sep-2017
The view is good room to old and no personal service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Newfoundland

Nice view, that's about it.

Posted 23-Sep-2017
Pros: View
Great view from the 17th floor fallsview room. The room itself was nothing special, bit dated. Location was close to the shuttle down to the falls. Unfortunately this overshadowed by the dirty napkins under the bed skirt, a bathtub and sink with black hairs, a mini fridge that didn't close properly, and a toilet that didn't flush fully. I would have still recommended the room solely for the view, if not for the shady $15 nightly fee charged on checkout to cover the free wifi/pool/etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

great view of the falls

Posted 22-Sep-2017
Pros: staff were helpful, polite, attentive. location central and walking distance to most attractions.
Cons: (joke) cut down the trees in front of the falls
Location: see above
The staff were attentive and helpful resolving event bookings and suggestions of places to visit
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Sep-2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great reviews I'll be sure to share it with the city..LOL We look forward to your return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from PA.

Not happy.....

Posted 21-Sep-2017
Location: ok
Issue was the $30 dollar a day parking fee and the 14.95 resort fee per day. The resort fee was for a very small dirty pool and 4 exercise machines, what at a joke. Then the issue with not cleaning our room, so I called and ask for towel's, half a hour later still waiting I called complained only to get hung up on because I was upset, so I called back for a manager and she came up to speak with me with still know towel's. I finally told her to get the towels and not to worry about cleaning the room. The price of the room and all the fee's is not worth the value. Then before we were to check out they wanted to clean the room while we were packing to leave.. Not happy at all.........
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Sep-2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Good location - great view!

Posted 21-Sep-2017
Although we felt that the hotel was a little "dated", the room was comfortable. Thanks for a great getaway!!
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Sep-2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate you letting us know how we can improve to impress you even more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Nova Scotia

GREAT TIME

Posted 21-Sep-2017
Pros: Cool elevator, Fantastic view from our room.
Location: close to everything
Had a great time. I in joyed the whole time at the Oakes Hotel. The staff at the front desk came to my rescue with a band aid for a very sore blister on the bottom of my foot. Thank you for our comfortable sleeps.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Sep-2017 by nicole, Hotel Management
thank you for the fabulous review, we ae thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Caifornia

Disappointed

Posted 20-Sep-2017
The online photos of the room don't convey what you get; the room smelled, bed uncomfortable, you have to carry your luggage up stairs part of the way. I was traveling with my mother it was difficult getting in and out of there. Self parking was $30/a night.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Sep-2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 20-Sep-2017
Cons: air conditioners too annoying!
Location: great location good view of the area above the 10th floor. close t whatever you needed. short walk to the falls , close to bus if needed.
Nothing spectacular nice place didn't like the resort fee since we found the pool area too humid to stay in.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2017 by nicole, Hotel Management
thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry for the AC and will look into the issue you had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Poor service

Posted 20-Sep-2017
Had an issue with my booking. Couldn't reach the manager and when I did, her attitude was poor and seemed irritated to be talking to me. We asked for a crib and they brought a pack n play in the room without setting it up for us. Only good thing about the hotel was the view.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Sep-2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Calgary, AB

Nice view of the falls

Posted 20-Sep-2017
We stayed on the 14th floor facingvthe falls and had a great view. Would have been nice if parking was not a premium in cost and not enough space to park, but overall experience was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2017 by nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you Kenny for sharing your wonderful experience with us, we hope to welcome you back again!