Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller fromHuntsville, AL

Friendliest staff, close commute

Posted 26-Sep-2016
We had a conference in Morrow, so we didn't want to stay in Downtown Atlanta. Although this hotel is south of the city, it's an easy <15 minute drive to Downtown. The staff was overwhelmingly nice and went out of their way to be helpful. They switched our room with no questions when we didn't have a bathtub in the first room they gave us. The hotel has been remodeled and is clean and well done. The pool area is nice, and there are lots of restaurants within walking distance. Thank you, Country Inn & Suites for an amazing stay!
2out of 5
by A verified traveller fromFort Lauderdale, FL

Does the cockroach make this double-occupancy?

Posted 2-Sep-2016
Although I checked in early, and have no physical disability, I was given a room on the 1st floor meant for those with disabilities. Upon entering the room, I noticed the secondary lock was broken on the door and I could only use the deadbolt. Before showering the next morning, I attempted to locate a blowdryer as I am female with shoulder-length hair, and I was in Morrow in business. There was nothing in the room. The front desk told me to look in the cabinets under the sink. There WAS NO CABINET under the sink - only exposed pipes. She then told me to look in the closet. There was NO CLOSET; only a few hangers on a metal bar, under a mounted iron and ironing board. She then told me there were no other hair dryers she could provide. The handicapped shower had no soap dish or ledge, so any soap or shampoo had to be placed on the padded seat, and water was draining into the floor of the bathroom because there was no lip to contain it; only the shower curtain. The AC units are the old floor-style located under the window. It was loud all night, but at least the room was cool. Unfortunately, after leaving the shower, I went to retrieve my charging phone and noticed a visitor on the floor - what appeared to be a dead (?) two-inch long COCKROACH! I packed my bags immediately (which were not on the floor) and left the room. I was given a different room on the 2nd floor for the 2nd night of the pre-paid stay, which didn't have cockroaches, but old, stained carpets.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Sep-2016 by amit, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Sincerely,
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromTampa, Fl

Ok for the price we paid.

Posted 30-Aug-2016
Overall not many complaints as the room was not bad for the price we paid. The tv seemed to need replacing as there was a lot of static in the sound, but otherwise no complaints with the room. The hotel itself was hot, not sure if the a.c. was broken or just turned off. The "business center" was a laptop on a table in the lobby. It was unusable as the modem had been stolen and not replaced. The desk staff, however, was more than gracious in printing things for us as needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
2-Sep-2016 by Krystal, Hotel Management
Dear Reniyah, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Safe Travels, Krystal W.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 19-Aug-2016
Good place to stay. Close to good restaurants, shoping and the hwy.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Aug-2016 by Krystal, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and close by eateries. We look forward to your next stay. Safe Travels, Krystal W.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not clean or comfortable

Posted 9-Aug-2016
Check in and check out were quick and courteous. However, the room was not very clean. There was hair on one of the towels and in the tub. The room had an odor of mildew. The furniture also felt uncomfortably moist. It was convenient to my venue, but I would not stay here again, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Amit, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely,
2out of 5
by A verified traveller fromflorida

Very tired facility

Posted 5-Aug-2016
Had a king suite which looked nothing like photos on Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Amit, Hotel Management
Dear Lee Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Amit
4out of 5
by A verified traveller fromNew York

Awesome staff

Posted 15-Jul-2016
The best part of the hotel Is the staff. They were courteous and helpful in every way. The room was a little outdated, but spacious. Not exactly like the pictures online. The bathroom tub was old and you could tell. At first glance I thought it was dirty and the housekeeping staff came and cleaned it. Then I realized it was just an old tub. As stated the room was spacious the king size bed was amazing. Carpet was outdated but it gave the old country feel to the room. AC worked perfect! I had a pleasant stay and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Jul-2016 by Krystal, Hotel Management
Dear Ga Gal, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable beds. We look forward to your next stay. Safe Travels, Krystal W.
2out of 5
by Cathy

Posted 28-Jun-2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.
2out of 5
by Stephanie fromHope Mills, NC

Not worth my money, never again!

Posted 27-Jun-2016 on Hotels
very disatisfied with look of face of Country Inn Ste. When we drove up the first thing we saw was people sitting out front with their bare feet up. No greeting ever camefrom there mouths the whole time we ww were there. We went to the room it was hot and small, the floor had a big red stain on the rug in front of the refrigerator. The pull out sunk in the middle so my son had to just sleep on the couch. No remote for front room tv. The pool was dirty the whole time we were there. Very dissatisfied! Service from the ladies who cleaned, attended breakfast and worked the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jun-2016 by Krystal, Hotel Management
Dear Stephanie, We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Should you have any concerns, please reach out to any of our employees directly. Best Regards, Krystal W.
4out of 5
by james fromGulfport

Posted 20-Jun-2016 on Hotels
Great stay no problems.. No many places to eat but one exit over off the interstate have malls and everything.. Great location
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Jun-2016 by Krystal, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay. Safe travels. Krystal W.