Ratings based on 2,026 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Massachusetts

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted 18-Aug-2017
I really enjoyed this hotel. Nice and clean. Customer service was great. I would stay here again. Family friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 18-Aug-2017
Great experience. I would recommend this hotel 100 %. Very nice staff, hotel is super clean and in a excellent location.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Aug-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort and for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to read our outstanding hospitality and oceanfront location helped make your stay a memorable one. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope to be your hotel of choice every time you visit our area. Barbara Romano, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Caracas

Hotel close to the beach

Posted 15-Aug-2017
Nice hotel close to the beach and restaurants, tram stop a couole of blocks
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Aug-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Tony, thank you for choosing Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort and for your review of our hotel! We are delighted you enjoyed our convenient location near the beaches, and we look forward to your next visit whenever you are here. Barbara Romano, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from C

You get what you pay for

Posted 16-Jul-2017
11 of my friends and I spent a night at this hotel using two suites. The main floor looked promising and smelled great. As soon as we got in the elevator and got off on our floor it was like sitting in New York's port authority rest room with the smell we got. It was terrible. The rooms were ok. Bathroom floors were dirty and the AC was leaking in our other suite which caused some mold build up and made for a very stuffy sleep for my friends. The location was great. Parking was annoying after being told upon check in that the hotels parking lot/garage was under construction and the alternative was parking 3 blocks down at much more expensive price. I'm glad we only stayed for 24hours. Any longer and I would've slept in our van.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jasmine, thank you for being our guest and for your feedback. We are sorry we did not live up to the standards you have come to expect from us and that overall your accommodations did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you letting us know the areas that need our attention and we can assure you they are being addressed. We hope you will consider a future visit to experience the stay we are typically known for extending to each and every guest. Barbara Romano General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Close to beach. Balcony a plus.

Posted 6-Jul-2017
Close to port of Miami. Great location and beachfront. Lots of nearby restaurants. Breakfast buffet good. Room clean with balcony a plus!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
7-Jul-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a nice feedback about Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort. We are glad to read you were pleased with most aspects of our hotel, especially with our convenient location and your well-appointed room. We hope we will be the hotel of your choice whenever you are back in this area. Barbara Romano, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Miami beach

Nice hotel with great beach access.

Posted 6-Jul-2017
Our stay was great. There were so many nice staff members but two stood out for me, one was Maria she was house keeper super nice. She went out her way to show us around the building. The other was a man who worked in the dinning area I don't know if he was a supervisor or not but he was very nice and quick with our meals even though he had many other people to help. I love bestwestern keep up the good work 😄😄😄😄.
Comment from Hotel Management
7-Jul-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Nicole, we can't thank you enough for your wonderful review. To provide an exceptional service for each guest is what we aim for, and we are delighted to learn this was your experience. I will be sure to share your compliments with the associates mentioned in your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again whenever you are back in this area. Barbara Romano, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Miami Beach, FL

Location & Cleanliness

Posted 6-Jul-2017
I did like the location of the hotel but the bathroom was a disappointment. There was a large hair clump on the shower curtain which was no way mine--wrong color and length. Also the shampoo dispenser was empty and no washrags. If I go back to Miami, I will be trying a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
9-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Pam, thank you for sharing a candid review. Although we are glad to know you liked our location, we are sorry for the issues you experienced in your bathroom while you were here. I have shared your concerns with my Housekeeping team to take corrective actions. We hope to have another opportunity so we can serve you even better. Barbara Romano, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Hotel is a short walk to the beach

Posted 5-Jul-2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The staff should be more helpful and get the supplies ready for the customers.
Location: Beach and restaurants is nearby
The hotel is in a good location, but it is not up to standard. No Pool towels were available and there was shampoo or conditioner in the dispenser in our room. The room was spacious and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
5-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ruby, thank you for the constructive review. Although we are glad to know you liked our convenient location, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations. Your feedback is of utmost value, and we will use it as a training tool to improve our performance moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity so we can provide you with a much better experience. Barbara Romano, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 4-Jul-2017
Nice hotel, close to the beach, no parking, had to park 10 mins away from the hotel, but overall very good. I did not appreciate housekeeping knocking on my door at 9am when you get to the hotel at 3am, someone knocking at your door at 9am is not what you need.
Comment from Hotel Management
5-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy you were satisfied with our proximity to the beach and had an overall pleasant time with us. That being said, I am sorry for the issues you experienced and regret the inconvenience it caused. We hope to have another chance in the future so we can serve you better. Barbara Romano, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Tampa

Not satisfied

Posted 1-Jul-2017
The one time a year we can go on vacation they hold a "fire alarm inspection" that lasted a total of three days out of our four night stay this forcing us out of the room due to the loud alarms. Worst part no advance notice this was going to take place. No beach chairs or towels provided and the elevator would not go all the way up to the ninth floor leaving us to walk up one flight of stairs. Room was clean, good ocean view.
Comment from Hotel Management
8-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Nick, thank you for your feedback. Although you were pleased with your room and the view provided by our hotel, we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced while you were here. I have shared your concerns with my management team to prevent these issues from happening again. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you on your next trip. Barbara Romano, General Manager