Ratings based on 770 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller fromMurrieta

Good location, but that's it.

Posted 15-Sep-2016
I can't wrap my head around a 3.6 rating for this dump. I will say that the location is really good and the staff is very friendly, but the room was awful.I have a suspicion that they use non-smoking rooms as smoking rooms when they need to because when we went to our room, the window was wide open and there was a faint smell of cigarette smoke. When we got into the room it really looked like they started a renovation, but then just gave up midway. They have one wood floors in the bed TV area and then carpet right outside the bathroom where the bathroom sink and closet are and there's not a smooth floor transition from the two areas. There was blood on the shelf below the sink area, the bathtub look absolutely filthy and there was a black curly hair intertwined on one of the towels. I didn't notify the front desk of these issues, as we arrived around midnight and we're going to leave the room by 8 AM anyway, so we just sucked it up and slept and showered and got the heck out of there. In my honest opinion, this place shouldn't be allowed to operate in it's current condition. Looks like a crack motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Sep-2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sara, I am very sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable in the room you stayed in. We do not allow smoking in our non-smoking room and your shared experience is indeed concerning. Your review will be escalated, I assure you that our key people will evaluate and address your feedback accordingly. We hope to see you again.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted 12-Sep-2016
Pros: The Staff and room was great!
Location: Redondo beach pier, King Hawaiian's Bakery, Shopping Center
Great Hotel to spend the weekend here. My wife and I spent the weekend to explore Torrance and it was great! It is very close to Redondo Beach and other sites. I have never stayed at a Travellodge but, I definitely will again! Staff was very friendly! It's also about 3 minutes away from the Kings Hawaiian Bakery.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Sep-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
How wonderful to hear from you and learn that you and your wife had an exceptional stay with us. We are happy you found our location convenient and were able to get out and explore the area. We hope you two will return for another visit with us at Torrance Travelodge.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromLA

average

Posted 11-Sep-2016
The stay was average. The bathroom door in our room was jammed and hard to go inside. It would get stuck and it was not pleasant feeling.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Sep-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Jay, We want to extend our gratitude to you for writing a review of your stay. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable. It is regrettable to know that your stay was less than satisfactory due to the issue with the bathroom door in your room. Please know that we have addressed the issue. We do hope to get a chance to serve you again.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 6-Sep-2016
It was a good choice and price considering our plans were last minute. Friendly staff and good condition. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
7-Sep-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are so happy to hear our hotel worked out for your last minute plans. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff’s efforts as we strive to provide a friendly and welcoming atmosphere for every guest. We are thrilled to know that you would stay with us again.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller fromHawthorne

Friendly and conveniently located

Posted 6-Sep-2016
Front desk were friendly and efficient. Location was conveniently located to the Del Amo Fashion Center .Room was clean ,comfortable quiet.The only imperfections I could see is the preperation of the walls.I seen a little dust debri in some of bottoms of the walls.I overall liked my stay at the motel. It did the trick for our needs.We went to a family reunion.I would recommend family or friends to stay in this motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
7-Sep-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Blue, It means so much to us to hear your positive comments. We are pleased that you found a clean, comfortable and quiet room in a convenient location during your stay with us. And thank you for your feedback regarding the friendliness and efficiency of our Guest Service Representatives. We are very proud of them. We also appreciate your observation with regard to the wall areas. We have addressed the issue. Hope to see you during your next visit.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller fromTucson, Arizona

Room clean but carpet should be cleaned.

Posted 3-Sep-2016
Pros: Friendliness of personnel, fairly clean rooms.
Cons: Carpeting in room could be cleaner
Location: great location, many things to do in the nearby locations. Park, shopping center, restaurants & shows to name a few.
I had a nice experience at the hotel, no complaints. Good rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
4-Sep-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Johnny, Thank you so much for your posting. We are glad that you found friendliness and a great location during your stay with us. We have addressed the issue with the carpet and we are looking forward to your return.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller fromSão Paulo

Quarto grande e bem limpo.

Posted 24-Aug-2016
Estadia agradável, bom atendimento e ótima limpeza. Apenas o café da manhã é bem simples.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Aug-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Milena, Nós nos esforçamos para dar-lhe uma grande experiência, e estou satisfeito em saber que fomos capazes de atender às suas expectativas de muitas maneiras; embora eu lamento ouvir que não foram completamente impressionado com os nossos serviços de pequeno-almoço. Obrigado por seus comentários que nos ajuda a conhecer foram que estão faltando, tais como opções de pequeno-almoço. Nós esperamos que você vê novamente na próxima vez que o seu na área.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller fromL.A.

Very nice hotel stuff, however. ......

Posted 23-Aug-2016
All the hotel stuff was very very nice , however ..unconfortable beds, not clean, old furnitures, smelling air conditioner. .. ...diasappointed with expedia for booking this. But again the hotel stuff was very very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Aug-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Marc, We appreciate your rating of our hotel, though I do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced with the state of our accommodations, we are sorry to hear the bed and room furniture weren't to your standards. Thank you for your feedback so we are able to move forward and address these issues quickly. We hope to see you again in the future so you can see what improvements we have made.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not bad but not great

Posted 2-Aug-2016
Very clean room and friendly staff. Were very dissapointed that there was no pool and no gym. Not much around to do in proximity of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
I am very sorry to learn that you found our location to be inconvenient and our amenities to be lacking. But happy our staff was helpful and cleanliness made an impression on you. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller fromPhoenix, AZ

Hotel doesn't match the price

Posted 2-Aug-2016
Pros: Complaint to the front desk resulted in a call from the manager, it was nice to know that my complaints about my stay did not go unheard.
Cons: Better front desk staff, better housekeeping
For the amount that we paid for a 2 night stay, we should have had a better expierience. Hotel staff wasn't very friendly, "free" coffee was horrible and our room wasn't cleaned very well. Also had a personal belonging removed from our room and I had to get lobby staff involved to find it.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2016 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Diana, I apologize for the difficulties that you experienced with housekeeping and staff during your recent stay with us, and that the room wasn't to your standards.Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review so we are able to address every issue.