Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Nov. 6, 2019
For $115 I would have expected them to at least have the power on for us in the morning for a couple hours. It's not really an "experience" like they say. It's a cold room without winter heat, thin blankets, no running water or lights. Get an airbnb with a cute local instead, these guys aren't trying at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov. 13, 2019 by Kathy, Hotel Management
So sorry for your experience, We were making a point of turning on generators in the morning, in these colder autumn days, when there is so few people on island. I'm not sure what day you were there, but I personally turned on the power Saturday and Sunday, for the last party of the season on the island. ' We normally close mid October, just after the long weekend, for the winter months, but Angelica asked us to remain open for her party. The hotel is now closed for the winter, and will reopen in April 2020
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Aug. 20, 2019
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Aug. 6, 2019
The hotel manager - Kathy and Angelina were warm and friendly. The room was extremely clean. The restaurant needs to be cleaner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Kelowna

Posted Aug. 6, 2019
The view is breathtaking. The bed was comfortable and I liked that the power goes out at night - there are no tvs or telephones in the room so it is very relaxing and encouraged us to connect more with one another. Everyone was very pleasant and hospitable. There is not much to do here except maybe walk and swim (very cold) or rent kayaks (we did not get a chance to do).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Jul. 15, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Jul. 11, 2019
We love this place for a rustic off-grid getaway! Stunning views!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Port Alberni

Posted Apr. 19, 2019
This was our first trip to Lasqueti Island, and definitely won’t be our last! Karen and Lisa were so knowledgeable and helped us out so much to get the most out of our get away! We were staying off season, so didn’t have a chance to try out the restaurant on site, but the grocery store/bakery cafe next store was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Gabriola Island BC

Off the Grid Lasqueti

Posted Jul. 9, 2018
We had heard several reports that made us nervous about staying at the hotel. Our experience was fine and the staff oriented us well and explained all the procedures for using the facilities when the power is off. The power was on all the time we needed it. I guess in winter when the restaurant is not operating it might be different but our experience was just fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Oct. 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Lori

Great for an off-the-grid hotel

Posted Jul. 10, 2017 on Hotels
For an island off the grid, this hotel was pretty upscale. Know that it is the hotel and pub for the island, so it is going to be noisy on a weekend night. It was a Saturday night that we were there, and they had a band on the deck outside our window until late. Also, be aware that the place is run on a generator - so when the pub closes down for the night, the power and water shut off, and turn back on at 8 am. They provide you with a jug of water for your room, and flashlights, but it's something to be aware of. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but the place was clean, if worn. Friendly service. All of it is worth it for the view - the picture I've added is from our room, you can see the pub deck, and the dock where the passenger-only ferry comes in.