Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Nov. 7, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sudbury

Posted Sep. 25, 2018
The rooms were huge. Loved the location close to shopping, restaurants, and the university. Staff was lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Sep. 7, 2018
This is not our first time stayed with Royal Brock Hotel, the previous experience was great that's why we came back again. The cleanliness was still good, breakfast was decent, yet the front desk staff was disappointing us. He had a negative attitude, ignored us when we stepped into the hotel, myself work in the hospitality industry, I can't believe that being a front desk agent can be this impolite. I didn't expect this from RB.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

It served the purpose.

Posted Sep. 7, 2018 on Hotels
I have chosen this hotel because of its close proximity to the local university (five minutes walk just across the street). I later found out that it was an old Best Westen now operating as Royal Brock. The hotel is no doubt very old and poorly maintained, a reason for the very reasonable rate. Much work is needed especially in the toilet. However, the staff at the reception (the only staff I have interacted with while staying there for two nights) was very friendly and helpful, the WiFi works good, and if one isn’t picky, the hotel does offer a simple breakfast for free every morning. Oh, and it does have a decent indoor pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Vancouver BC

The room is clean, but it's OLD, air con too loud

Posted Sep. 5, 2018
Pros: Staff
Cons: too many to mention
Location: Great location to school which is we need.
The staff is friendly and helpful, but I can see the budget very limited, feel sorry the front desk staff has to do EVERYTHING. The housekeeper didn't clean our room for 3 days, 1st day my husband put privacy sign on by mistake, next 2 days no sign was on, but still didn't clean the room, the toilet is ALMOST plugged, the sink is 80% plugged up, call front desk, sent plumber right away, WIFI is very weak which my son complained most, leaking water from the roof water all over the stairs after the big rain storm. Didn't try the breakfast at all. so no commend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

May Have to Re Think Staying Again

Posted Sep. 4, 2018 on Hotels
Check in was fine. I liked that we were on the main floor and did not have to climb stairs. The rooms do have to be updated! Our room in particular was very damp and smelled like it. I am not sure if there is a water leak issue or what. Was not happy about that. At breakfast...they had run out of some of the food, but more was being made when I finally was able to talk to a girl who worked there. There were no plates or utensils when we showed up. I took it upon myself to fill the knives, forks and spoons as people needed them and no staff was around. There should be someone out there checking on these simple things all the time. Overall the breakfast was ok. These issues with the room were a problem the last time we stayed. May have to re think staying again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Toronto ON

Posted Aug. 31, 2018
Price, location, room space, services at Front desk, breakfast are all good. Only one thing needs to take care of is the number of staffs serving breakfast. When supplies ran out, it took quite a while to be refilled which cause inconvenience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Aug. 27, 2018
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Large room but not clean

Posted Aug. 25, 2018
I checked in and found that the room is not clean yet and air-conditioning is running (seems like others are staying in the room). A lot hair in bathroom from previous guest. No elevator at conference building. It is not suitable for heavy luggage. However, the front staff is really nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Charlottetown, PE

Posted Aug. 24, 2018
This was our second stay at the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph and would recommend it to anyone. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. The complimentary hot breakfast was good if a bit repetitive but saved going out somewhere. We didn't make use of the pool but it also looked clean and inviting. We would stay again for sure!