Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia-Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Aug. 30, 2019
Lovely setting looking at Eiger. Great terrace with Lovely views
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted Aug. 8, 2019
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Jul. 30, 2019
Service was poor from the moment we arrived. We drove and parked at the top of the drive way. There were no porters around and even after informing front desk that we needed a porter to help with our large suitcases, none came at a timely manner. So after a long day of travelling by train and driving, my mother and I lifted our suitcases and brought them ourselves to the lobby. It was not a huge deal breaker, but I was already weary of the lack of attention to hotel guests. Front desk was also not particularly friendly. Also, they handed us two room key cards that DID NOT WORK. I had to go downstairs and get them fixed. Very rocky start to our journey. The room and hallways have an old building smell. And though the views are quite incredible from the room, the balcony seems to be poorly maintained. Cobblewebs at every corner with carpeting that isn’t quite clean. Imagine our disappointment as the rooms are quite expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul. 30, 2019 by Philip Hauser, Owner family, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you for staying with us and for your valued feedback. We're very sorry that we couldn't fulfill your expectations. As you decided to post your review anonymously, we unfortunately have a hard time to answer to the specific case and to improve our processes. What we can say is that we don't have bell boys waiting outside all day for arrivals as we are not a 5-star hotel. Once you arrive at reception we however inquire if you need help and of course someone should arrive in a timely manner. However, if our porters are already bringing suitcases to other rooms it might take a few minutes. In this case the front desk should of course react and inform you of the delay. Also, the room keys should of course work. We're very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Our rooms as well as our hallways are freshly renovated and we had complaints about fresh paint smell previously this season however never a complaint about them smelling old. A clean balcony is of course a must and we have informed housekeeping about your complaint. Outdoors in the summer dirt can land on balconies faster than we can remove it, for example from the flowers and also cobwebs are formed very quickly. We will however see if we can improve the balcony cleanliness. Overall, we're very sorry that your stay was tainted by these events. May we ask if you mentioned any of this at check-out or during your stay? Mistakes unfortunately happen everywhere and we would have done our best to correct our mistakes before your departure or at least apologized to you in person. Where their other factors that lead to this terrible experience and review? How was the spa or breakfast? How were you treated in the restaurant or at check-out? Was your experience terrible throughout or were the points mentioned the (only) problems? Please let us know to help us improve. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Houston

Posted Jul. 21, 2019
Staff was terrific and very helpful. Beautiful view, charming hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul. 30, 2019 by Philip Hauser, Owner family, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you for staying with us and the great rating and review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Jul. 19, 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul. 30, 2019 by Philip Hauser, Owner family, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you for staying with us and the great rating. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Best hotel in Grindelwald!

Posted Jul. 17, 2019 on Hotels
A friend of mine stayed here in May and highly recommended to me. I booked it based on her words and I absolutely loved it. I had the Eiger room with a big balcony that faces the Eiger mountain as well as the dream-like cottages built on the slope of the mountain. The view is breathtaking! The room is well proportioned and spacious. Food in the restaurant is excellent from breakfast to dinner (restaurant also has an amazing view of the mountain). I will definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul. 30, 2019 by Philip Hauser, Owner family, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you for staying with us and the great rating. We're glad you loved your stay with us as much as your friend did. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Jul. 7, 2019
Very nice and family friendly. Breakfast at the restaurant was excellent and so were the dinner options. stunning views from the room and train station was less than 5 min walk !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul. 10, 2019 by Philip Hauser, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you for staying with us and for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed our food and views and hope to welcome you back with us soon. Kind regards, Philip Hauser, family and team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Jun. 30, 2019
The scenery at the veranda was great. The hotel is close from the station. I enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Grindelwald

Posted Jun. 22, 2019
Everything is excellent especially the view of Eiger mountain. All the hotel staff are very nice. Breakfast is great and the location is a short walk to the train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun. 24, 2019 by Philip Hauser, Hotel Management
Dear guests, Thank you very much for staying with us and for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you with us again soon. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted Jun. 8, 2019
I like its location and its view and hope to reduce room charge and for check -in and out timing to become more extended
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun. 24, 2019 by Philip Hauser, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're glad you were satisfied with your stay. We do our best to have the rooms ready as early as possible and we always offer a late check out when possible. The prices in June are quite high as it is already high-season for us. We hope to welcome you with us again someday. Kind regards,