Ratings based on 1,475 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Galveston Hotel

Posted 8-Jan-2018
Hotel was what we needed for a short stay for a night before our cruise the next day. Rate was good and I had chosen this hotel for the shuttle it offered from the airport and to the cruise terminal. The hotel was clean but needed a little tlc. Couch in our room had a hole in the fabric, from our balcony you could see a big section of missing shingles on the roof overhang below, hot tub was out of service. Breakfast was good. The shuttle rides were very disappointing. The van had an issue with the air conditioning unit and one seat was wet, and for both trips we took (to the hotel and to the cruise terminal) they put more people in the van than there were seatbelts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from texas

Uncomfortable beds

Posted 6-Jan-2018
Beds were terrible. Bath tub drain was missing. Sink faucet continued to drop all night. Even the elevator button was not working for the floor we were staying on. Only good thing was the location. Walking distance from pleasure pier.
Comment from Hotel Management
6-Jan-2018 by Sal, Hotel Management
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Houston, TX

Ice bucket to flush

Posted 2-Jan-2018
Had to use the ice bucket with hot water to flush the toilet. The water in the sink didn't want to drain either. There is no TV guide so that's a fun guessing game. Not even basic cable. During breakfast at 8:57 am on the dot as I'm eating my waffle the "attendant" turned off the lights. Really? If it stops at 9am that's fine, no one was getting up for seconds and she raced to shove all the remaining leftover food into the storage closet. I asked for 2 extra towels at the front desk and they write down how many exactly you have in your room. Never experienced that before. There were 2 children sitting in the hallway late at night. When we alerted the front desk, they said, "oh the black kids? They're mom went out and they are waiting for her to come back." More worried about towels than guest's safety.
Comment from Hotel Management
5-Jan-2018 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from New Braunfels TX

Great location but inside hotel lacking

Posted 30-Dec-2017
We were excited to find a place that all 6 of us could stay. When we arrived the staff was friendly and we were given our parking passes. We were on top floor -decent view from balcony but the one bedroom suite is cramped. The living space furniture is lumpy and hard, the beds are decent, the dresser in the bedroom the drawers don’t stay closed so if you get up in the night be warned as you might knock into them -ouch! The blackout curtain was off the end just hanging we were able to hook once it was closed but if you touched it they fell again. Overall it’s clean just needs repair. The indoor pool was freezing, the room had temperature controls but they didn’t adjust them so it was 65 degrees in the indoor pool area so it made it too cold to swim for the adults. The kids swam but had blue lips within 10 minutes or less. The hot tub was out of commission as well. We looked forward to hot showers when we returned to our room to be utterly disappointed as it never got hot it was only warm, even this morning st 6am it was only warm. On the upside our party of 18 was permitted to use the breakfast common room for our pizza party dinner which we greatly appreciated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 25-Dec-2017
Goldfish crackers in the corner of room that didn't belong to us. Bathroom was falling apart and the toilet water was hot. Beds were okay, and the breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Good location, sort of.

Posted 25-Dec-2017
Hotel was right across the street from the beach and Pleasure Pier amusement park. That was the good part of the location. The bad part was that when we arrived we parked next to a car that had their window broken out. We were shocked! When we reported it to the hotel they said the owner had parked there while they were away on a cruise. When we asked if they had reported it they said “no”, that they would have to wait until the owner returned. We really didn’t feel safe about the location but it was too late to cancel. The room was ok. King bed had 3 wimpy pillows. Bathroom was spacious with granite countertops. Shower had a wimpy shower head. We didn’t use the fridge or microwave. Balcony had a view of the beach, amusement park, and trashy alley next door including a mattress in the alleyway. Breakfast wasn’t anything special. Mainly eggs, sausage, waffles, juice and coffee. Sat down at worn out table and chairs. All in all, we won’t be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel.

Posted 23-Dec-2017
Good spot near the beach to relax before embarking on a cruise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Ridiculous

Posted 15-Dec-2017
Pros: It was a great location and offered rooms to fit my needs.
Location: Good food and beach across the street and in walking distance to Pleasure Pier.
I booked a room for 6 people and they gave us towels for 3 people We could NOT get any more towels. They told us they were being washed. The pool was disgusting and you could not swim in it. I could see that the owners were doing as little as possible for customers. They stated they called Country Inn and Suites with our complaints and they would adjust my bill, but of course, that credit never happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Dec-2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. It is rewarding to know that you were delighted with our strategic location and the accommodations of your room. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear about the availability of towels, the service you received from our staff and that you were not able to enjoy the pool at that time. We are concerned about the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is greatly appreciated as it assists us in our continuous goal of improving our services. We hope you will provide us another chance to give you the impressive stay that you deserve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel close to the beac and piee

Posted 15-Dec-2017
Breakfast was awesome. Only negative remark is that the hot tub was out of order while we visited and we were really looking forward to using it. No ones fault, just disappointed. Room was clean and very nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Stingy and Dirty

Posted 12-Dec-2017
Pros: Location, that's why I booked it.
Ridiculous. I made reservations for 10 people. 2 rooms, one sleeping 4 and 1 sleeping 6. We could not even get enough towels for all of us. They said they were in the washer. The hotel pool was the most disgusting pool I have ever seen. Not clean at all. Looks like the hotel has some mold and mildew. Stingy is the one word that comes to mind. They said they had a shuttle to take us to the cruise boat, but when we wanted to get it, they told us it would be $10 a person. I've never heard of a hotel that offers a shuttle and then charges to use it. Ridiculous. Just ridiculous. I stayed there because of the name. I will be complaining to corporate.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Dec-2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our service. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly.