Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NYC

Posted 14-Aug-2014
Pros: Pool, bar stuff and restaurant stuff.
Cons: Reservations for restaurants.
Location: Did not go outside the resort.
This is a nice resort. We had a good experience. However, there were two things that we were displeased with. one, the beach is terrible. There is so much sea weeds all over the place because of a reef off the beach. Looks disgusting. Good sand though. Two, the restaurants do not allow reservations. I still can't comprehend the logic behind this. Its a hustle to have dinner. They have this stupid policy where you go to a restaurant and they write down your name and then you wait until someone gets up. There were times where we waited for over an hour to get a table. At the so called french restaurant, one night i was called by the hostess that she didn't have a table but if i agreed to buy a bottle of wine, she could get me a table. That was pretty disappointing. Anyhow, overall i thing the restaurant staff was pretty nice. Rooms are cleaned twice a day which is a big plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Aug-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, On behalf of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Expedia about your recent stay at our resort. Our goal is to make our guests, repeat guests. We really appreciate your concise review and we will share it with the entire staff to improve our service in all possible ways. We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We wish to have the privilege to welcome you back soon. With kind regards, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from South Jersey

Nice resort...

Posted 6-Aug-2014
Pros: The staff is the best part of this hotel, all were very friendly and accommodating. The common, open areas are really pretty, and the pool was great!
Cons: A few maintenance items like the missing tile at the pool bar, the upholstery on the dining chairs, especially in the buffet dining area.
Location: We booked a snorkeling trip that was a 10 minute drive from the hotel, that was really fun. The on-site travel agent, Luis, was awesome!!!
We visited this hotel in late July/early August, it was very hot and only a few areas were air-conditioned (sort-of). Our room was the only really cool spot in the whole resort, the restaurants/shops tried to have AC but were pretty stuffy... While we weren't expecting 'adults-only', we were overwhelmed by the number of children, newborns up to teenagers and large family groups. There were a few items that needed attention, like the upholstery on the dining chairs was dirty and worn, the pool bar had a large section of tile missing on the front edge but overall we had a really nice time and enjoyed ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Aug-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for choosing to spend your recent vacation at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. We very much appreciate your time for sharing your feedback with us through Expedia about your stay at our resort. We value your comments and will share them with the staff to improve our service in all possible ways. We always work with the whole purpose to make you feel comfortable. Sorry to hear you were not well informed that our resort is for families and couples. We hope to welcome you back soon. Cordially yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Atlanta

Not what I expected

Posted 29-Jul-2014
Our room was hot and everytime we called to see about getting it fixed, they would just send someone up to check and try to change the temp, but the temp never moved! We were sweating all night every night! The food was blah! I felt like I was bothering the bartenders unless I tipped $5 or more for 1 drink! I would tip $1 per drink mostly, but if one was attentive and didn't seemed bothered, I gave $5 and it was appreciated. I know they all work hard all day and some people don't tip at all bc it's all inclusive and I guess that messes it all up for the rest of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Aug-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Ahsley, Thank you very much for sharing your review on Expedia about your recent stay at our resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvencie you have experienced. We will share your feedback with the operations staff to improve our service in all possible ways. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and restore your confidence in our service. Cordially yours, Oilvia Rodriguez Social Media Coordinator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from NOVE SCOTIA

CANADA DAY !!!!!!!!!!!

Posted 14-Jul-2014
WE ARRIVED AT THE NOW SAPPHIRE ON CANADA DAY, WE HAD OUR T-SHIRTS ON FOR THE CELEBRATION, UNFORTUNATELY THERE WASN'T ONE. THAT WAS OK UNTIL JULY 4 TH CAME AROUND AND THERE WHERE BANNERS FLYING AND LITTLE FLAGS FOR OUR DRINKS, MUSIC PLAYING, AND A STATUE OF LIBERTY PUT UP. WE ALSO THINK THERE WAS A SPECIAL DINNER BUT I GUESS AS CANADIANS WE WERE NOT INVITED SO I AM NOT SURE WHAT THAT WAS ABOUT.. VERY DISAPPOINTED CANADIAN.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jul-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Expedia. The 4th of July dinner was for all our guests. You did not require a special invitation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. Your very valuable feedback will be shared with the involved departments. We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in our service. Sincerely yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Exton, PA

Beautiful beach, but water full of algae...

Posted 11-Jul-2014
Loved mostly everything about the resort, but the water....pictures featured are deceiving, the water is on the green side, not blue..due to heavy presence of algae...choose to stay in Cancun hotel zone if this is really important for you.. Otherwise, great time: delicious food, presentation and service; friendly staff (for the most part), beautiful oceanview rooms w/Jacuzzi on balconies, beautiful and lively centeal pool w/swim-up bar; great music and dancing in disco nightclub. I only attended one of the shows - Rock Circus and Comedy Show - and it was really fun!!! Didn't make it to the other ones.... Dinner at Chibu (Mediterranean) is top-notch; didn't try Paramount (French) as it's adults only, nor Lemongrass (Asian)...Blue Grill is fantastic for outdoors (right besides the ocean) dining. The entertainment team is not the best I've come to love and expect at a 4 stars resort...they need major improvements in this area...but, the one activity I did enjoy and took part in every day was water aerobics :) Resort overall is beautiful; lush vegetation, beautiful grounds, open architecture with expansive lobby...
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Oana, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Expedia. We are happy to read you had a great stay at our resort. Our Executive chef will be so glad to read your comments about the food. Thank you for your good comments about the rooms, pools, shows and service provided by the staff. They will be so happy to read your fabulous comments about their work. Thank you on behalf of them. We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future Cordially yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from cleveland, ohio

Big hotel, beautiful lobby, awesome entertainment

Posted 9-Jul-2014
Everything was excelent, good food, good drinks, great entertainment team, but we were disapointed about the ocean. We expected to see that beautiful Blue turqoise water of the carribean we used to see every year but here it was a pretty dirty color and a lot of plants coming from the ocean. And another not too great thing was that AC was not working very good in the restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Jul-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Carmy, Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. We are pleased to read you had a great stay at our resort. We appreciate your time to share your valuable feedback through Expedia. We will share your comments with the entire staff, especially with our Entertainment team. We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We really hope to welcome you again in the near future. Warmest regards, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from b

Fantastic relaxing small resort

Posted 6-Jul-2014
I booked this trip at the last moment but loved everything about it. The resort is the smallest I have been to and I loved that aspect. The food was exceptional. The service was very good, and the entertainment crew was fun, approachable without being obnoxious and overbearing as at some resorts.
Comment from Hotel Management
7-Jul-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, We appreciate your taking the time to write and share your review on Expedia. It's been a pleasure to have you at our resort. We are so glad to read you enjoyed the food, entertainment and service provided by the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Cordially yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from new york

Needed vacation

Posted 2-Jul-2014
The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very helful. Drinks and food were good. I will skip the french restaurant. They will try to sell you kind of a time share. Do not waste your time. You can only find a great deal online. Overall, i will go back
Comment from Hotel Management
7-Jul-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Mel, Thank you very much for sharing your review on Expedia. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Your feedback will be shared with the operations staff to improve our service in all possible ways. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Cordially yours Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Tampa, FL

Amazing pool , food and service.

Posted 20-Jun-2014
Pros: Service is wonderful, room is comfortable.
Cons: Need more options for car rentals and shuttle service to cancun and airport.
Location: Go the ruins, Tulum is close by. Go see a cenote (Aktun Chen), or swim with whale sharks in Cancun. Many day trips to choose from. Just book at hotel.
Great food and pool bar ! Service is very attentive. Beach is very clean. Room is super comfortable with nice views. Resort area is beautiful. Pool area is large and the pool swim up bar is fun ! Super clean and beautiful. Can swim with the whale sharks, book the trip at the hotel. Amazing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Jun-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Tara, It is a great satisfaction for us to know that we exceeded your expectations and you have enjoyed your visit with us. It is very gratifying for Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun to read throughout your comments and realize that your vacation was pleasant enough to share your experience on Expedia. Thank you for your comments about beach, room and the service provided by the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from ohio

Hotel has potential but needs work

Posted 1-Jun-2014
Pros: Beach
Cons: Food, more variety, not shutting down multiple restaurants in a day,better quality. Not watering down all the alcohol. Not over working staff.
Location: Catamaran was a lot of fun
Beautiful surroundings but the food situation is not good, musty hotel room with mildew smelling pillows. Majority of wait staff is unfriendly even after tipping well. It seems the staff is over worked which could be the reason for the poor attitudes so I felt bad for them. But nonetheless when your paying a lot per person for a trip and your getting bad vibes with a bad smelling room and terrible food and watered down drinks all week it leaves you disappointed. Don't usually like to complain but just trying to help future travelers in making decisions. The resort has potential but they need to stop cutting corners to try and save money. And the harassment of buying time shares while trying to relax is very annoying. Also they do the exact same activities every day. Zumba and water aerobics right by the pool bar, makes having a cocktail in the pool not very fun. That should be held elsewhere. Night life tends to be in a closed theater instead of outside by the beautiful beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jun-2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments on Expedia. We will share your feedback with the entire staff. We will address your comments with the UVC supervisors, to let them know your thoughts. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in our service. Cordially yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun