Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Ame

great stay! Thanks to the staff!

Posted 17-Dec-2014
Pros: The staff was great. The set up was very nice
Cons: The parking lot is too small
Location: I was not as close to my event as I wanted to be....but everthing was good>
Enjoyed! Was there for my baby brothers 50th birthday! great time
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Dec-2014 by Anita, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. We thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites I-75 South. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for any incovenience the parking may have cause you, however , that was an extremely busy weekend. On behalf of our staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to this area. Sincerely, Anita W.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Items need to be addressed

Posted 14-Nov-2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: New Staffing
Location: McDonlads, Chilis next door. Publix close by.
Found 3 small roaches in my room on the night stand.... the TV remote had a broken button on it so I couldn't use all the functions on the TV...and there was severe mold growing in the shower. I won't stay here again. Very sloppy with most everything. Also, the lady monitoring the breakfast was always on her cell phone texting in between putting out fresh food.... just a total lack of attention to everything by most of the staff. Carlson should spend some time at this place... I expected more from a Carlson Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Nov-2014 by Anita, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inn & Suite we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at our hotel. I have address these issues with our team, and assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operation . Thank you again for choosing the Country Inn and Suites.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Hotel zu nah an der Autobahn.

Posted 27-Oct-2014
Pros: Das Frühstück.
Cons: Durch die Nähe zur Autobahn ist es extrem laut, die Fenster sehr schlecht isoliert. Das ist bei anderen Hotels besser gelöst.
Wir haben zum Glück nur eine Übernachtung dort gebucht.
Comment from Hotel Management
1-Nov-2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the roadway noise. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Barbara Kingryfrom Morrow GA

very disappointed!

Posted 1-Sep-2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed in many Country Inn & Suites before but never one likebthis. We had to ask for clean sheets to be put on bed (sofabed) as they had not been changed in a while. Only one person working in entire motel. Felt kind of sorry for her. Would not recommend to anyone, would rather have slept in car. Dont think Country Inn & Suites knows about this mess.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Nov-2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom atlanta ga

On a trip

Posted 27-Aug-2014
Very tired-looking motel, mold on bathroom walls, room not very clean; used band aids on floor. Bed clean. Too expensive for such poor quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Sep-2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Auckland, NZ

Close to the freeway

Posted 27-Aug-2014
We had a terrible night's sleep in this hotel, which may not be entirely their fault, but stands apart from the rest of our holiday as being a fairly negative experience. The AC was the main problem - it was rattling, banging and alternately sighing and roaring, which I'd have to think it didn't just start up the day we got there. The second problem was the other hotel guests - there was a bunch of them that had been out at an event and came home after 1am, they spent the next hour or so shouting and running in the hallways, and in the carpark shouting and laughing at each other. Combined with the AC issues it wasn't pleasant. As I said, not really the hotel's fault. Breakfast was fine. There are a couple of nice restaurants next door (the Longhorn is particularly good - very much enjoyed our meal there).
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Sep-2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize you were not able to enjoy your stay. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveller

Close to the interstate...easy to find.

Posted 20-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel staff were friendly. The hallway to our room was extremely hot. Our room was extremely hot and took forever to cool it down. Woke up several times during the night due to the warmth of the room. Breakfast was good. Surrounding area was safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 25-Jul-2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 22-Jul-2014
Everthing was good except the breakfast. Looked like a good selection but 45 min before breakfast ended they stopped restocking food or plates. Waffles were out and so were the eggs and sausage. They had cereal but there were no bowls left. Ended up being pretty hungry after we left. Watched 3 staff members stand around instead of refilling things.