Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Friendly front desk.

Posted 29-Jul-2014
Enjoyed our stay. Very friendly front desk. Stayed Thursday- Sunday. Caters to business people, just like airlines, comps stop on the weekend. Pricey for the location. No breakfast. This review is long enough, but still requires more to submit, blah, blah, blah., blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Aug-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Front Desk. We hope to see you again next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from indianapolis

Easy to get on the interstate

Posted 1-Jul-2014
Pros: The staff, like I said, allowing us to park our motorcycles at the front door
Cons: Went to go to Joliet to go to the drag races, Kankakee was the closest place for a hotel. Thinking we could get more perks at a Hilton . NOT
Location: We went to Joliet to go to the drag races, one of the closest hotel we could find,
Room was alright, not what I thought a Hilton would be like, view out the window look out to the roof of the entrance. For the price of the room, no continental breakfast, nothing, could have stayed in a lot cheaper place and got free breakfast, But the did allow us to park our motorcycle under the roof of the entrance. That was a big plus Staff was great. But not worth the price
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! I'm thrilled the staff were exceptional for you. I am sorry we didn't make up for having to pay for the breakfast. It is always our goal to provide ever person with a perfect "10" as they stay with us. I hope you will give us another chance when you pass through again. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 13-Jun-2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by M from S

Great experience

Posted 19-May-2014 on Hotels.com
I really liked this hotel. It had a pool (nothing super big but big enough for the kids to have a great time), it was clean and people are super friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Sep-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our staff and the excellent service they provide! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Shelley from Arlington, Texas

Pleasant Surprise

Posted 7-May-2014 on Hotels.com
The Hilton Garden Inn in Kankakee is a pleasant surprise out in the middle of "nowhere". We have stayed there twice and both times the staff was welcoming, helpful and friendly. Our rooms were nice, and on our last stay we dined there and our meal was delicious. Side note-- next to the hotel is a small Mexican restaurant "El Mexicano"-- it's really good! We are from Texas, so it was a real gamble to eat Mexican food in Illinois, but the food is great-- we have since stopped there twice while on the road.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Sep-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind words! We will definitely share them both with our staff & with "El Mexicano" (I am a regular)... Thank you!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MH from Kankakee, IL

Disappointed

Posted 6-May-2014
I found hair and partially used shampoo and conditioner in the shower. Obviously the shower hadn't been cleaned. It made me very concerned about the overall cleanliness.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are devastated that we did not live up to our reputation & the HGI name. We apologize sincerely & hope that you will give us another chance during future trips to the area. That is definitely not our standards, or the impression we want to leave. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from Milwaukee

Right on I-57

Posted 4-May-2014 on Hotels.com
The room we had was really nice and clean. Staff was friendly. TV channel selection for our children was lacking, but it wasn't a big deal as we didn't come here to watch TV. The king bed we had was a bit on the firm side for my liking, but again not an big issue. I still slept really well. Our room had a Keurig coffee machine which was a nice little touch for a morning cup. Standard issue fridge and microwave which is always a must for my rooms as we have juices and snacks for our kids. Over all room was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Aug-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words!! We a thrilled that you had a wonderful stay. I do hope you take advantage of the adjustable beds next time you are in town. I assure you that we can find the right setting for you! Thank you again!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by church ladies from Logansport, In

Very nice accommodations

Posted 29-Apr-2014
Pros: Very friendly workers and nice rooms
Cons: Maybe just the cost of the breakfast could be lowered
Location: We usually stay in Bradley near the mall, but it was not a bad drive to get there.
Our ladies wished that the rooms had queen beds instead of full and wished the breakfast could have been cheaper, but loved their stay there. The hot tub was not working that evening, so they were disappointed about that. Beautiful facility..
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel. I apologize for the hot tub not being available when you were here. However I assure you it is running beautifully & will be ready for you upon your return! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 31-Mar-2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from WI

Nice restaurant, food was great.

Posted 30-Mar-2014
The battery went out on the thermostat so our room was extremely hot. We had to get new batteries at 3am and install them ourself.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2014 by Sam, Hotel Management
While I'm thrilled the food was wonderful, I couldn't be more sorry that happened to you in the middle of the night. We do try to always have multiple people here in the middle of the night so that we can address any issues that pop up. Please give us another chance next time you are in town! Thank you!