Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Virginia

Days Inn Blacksburg

Posted 26-Oct-2014
Pros: Very big room, we had a King bed room/
Cons: Better separation of smoking and non smoking rooms.
Location: Minutes from Va Tech.
Hotel stay was OK. Only real issue was that we booked a non-smoking room.......the room we stayed in had the "no smoking" sign in the room, but it had obviously been smoked in,.....ALOT!!!!.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with candid feedback on your stay. While we are pleased to hear that most aspects of your stay were enjoyable, we would like to apologize for the smell of smoke in your non-smoking guest room. Unfortunately, guests will occasionally decline to honor the no smoking status of their rooms and we try to catch that failure and to deep clean the rooms sufficiently that non-smoking guests are not negatively impacted. We obviously failed in that endeavor in the room you occupied. We hope you will stay with us again soon so we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with one where all aspects exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 25-Oct-2014
Checked in very late, staff was very patient with our late checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we were happy to be of service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 24-Oct-2014
you get what you pay for low price equals low quality
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so we will have the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Blacksburg, VA.

Front desk staff awesome-room not so much.

Posted 21-Oct-2014
Room was very worn. Stains on furniture, walls, etc. Room not stocked well with coffee, (only decaf). Stayed two nights. Room was not straightened, beds left unmade, cups not replenished. One trash can out of two was left full. Very disappointed. Won't stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for caring enough to share your candid feedback on your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our “awesome” staff, but are sorry to hear of the disappointments that occurred during your stay. Our records indicate that the Do Not Disturb placard was in place for the duration of your stay. Your room was not serviced in an effort to honor this request. We are very sorry for the miscommunication that led to your disappointment. We truly hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with a superior one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom new york

Great location. Great for price.

Posted 21-Oct-2014
Pleasant staff. Great location. Great for price. Would have preferred my room cleaned daily
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We truly appreciate your comments on our convenient location and great value! I do apologize for the oversight regarding Housekeeping services for your room during your stay. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Team to ensure a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 19-Oct-2014
Dog barking next door Room received was smoking when requested a non smoking Sink cracked Outdated
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
While it is very challenging to hear that a guest's stay fell below our typical high standards for the hotel, feedback from our guests is invaluable in helping us to ensure that future guests do not encounter the same concerns. We are a pet friendly hotel and have found that the pet owners that stay with us by and large are very respectful of guests that are not traveling with pets and are happy to adhere to our pet policies which include being present with and maintaining control of their pets at all times. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Blacksburg so we can have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Richmond, Virginia

Horrible Hotel

Posted 16-Oct-2014
Pros: Close to the event I came to Blacksburg for.
Cons: Cleanliness, the rooms were disgusting!
Location: Right next to Virginia Tech and close to Christiansburg.
Horrible experience. The room was very dirty with stains all over the carpet and seat cushions. Smelled moldy and when the fan was turned on it just made it worse. The Wi-Fi didn't work and when we called the front desk they said that our room was too far away and that it went in and out and to check again later (there never was a signal to begin with!) NEVER staying here again! Thought it might be nice because of the title "Blacksburg Conference Center" but boy was I wrong! The pictures in the ads look like they were taken a VERY long time ago when the rooms were nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
While it is disheartening to have failed to meet your expectations, we appreciate the opportunity to express our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. We have high standards for the cleanliness of our guest rooms and I am very sorry to hear that your room did not live up to these standards during your stay. I am also sorry for the trouble you experienced with Wi-Fi during your stay. Please be assured that we are looking into this issue. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so we will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Basic hotel in busy Blacksburg

Posted 14-Oct-2014
Location: The hotel is very close to Virginia Tech and easy to find.
The room is a basic hotel room. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. We really appreciate your comments on our comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Please consider yourselves officially welcomed back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Break up trip

Posted 12-Oct-2014
Pros: cozy
Cons: more reliable internet
It was a great place to break up a a long trip. We got there late and the guy was super friendly and gave us all the info we needed. The internet wasn't cooperative, but we overlooked that due to exhaustion and not needing to be on the internet anyway. Breakfast was awesome and the coffee was present.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We were delighted to provide respite from the road for you during your long trip. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with other travelers. We are sorry for the trouble you experienced with our high speed internet connection, but are pleased that other aspects of your stay were enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again whenever your travels bring you to our area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 11-Oct-2014
Great experience! Very friendly staff! Close to va tech and restaurants!
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and great location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.