Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Vienna, VA

Good hotel near Virginia Tech at a Good Price

Posted 27-Jul-2014
Location: It is close to Virginia Tech
Good location, though you may miss it if you are familiar with area. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I liked that it had a mini fridge. We stayed on a Friday night and it looked pretty full but no incidents of noise or anything like that. The breakfast was just fine. Coffee was good. They had the usual offerings that you find in a breakfast. There were sketches of different kinds of trains on the walls which were nice. There was a pool but we did not use it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Canton, MI

Really Bad Service

Posted 18-Jul-2014
Pros: It was the only affordable hotel available when I booked during the VT freshman orientation. So, I had to take it. Not much to like about but closenes
Cons: Pick up the phone, and attend to your guests.
Location: Its a bad place to be if you do not have a car. Not much dining options. Its for people who just needs a place to crash for the night.
I had requested a non-smoking king bed. On arrival they said its not available, only smoking is. The desk person was apologetic and found one, but that was handicap accessible room which I did not like. But because I needed a non-smoking room, i took it. Found out that though it was marked non-smoking, it was reeking of cigarette smell. The worst part is, if you call them, the front desk rarely pick up the phone. When they do, its not before 15-20 mins. I had to leave my minor son in the room to go to VT, and needed to check on him frequently. It became such a nightmare.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Jul-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the disappointments that occurred during your stay. Occasionally, guests will decline to honor the no smoking status of their room and when this happens we try to catch that failure and deep clean the room sufficiently to ensure that our non-smoking guests are not negatively impacted. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team. Thanks to feedback from our valued guests such as yourself, we have become aware of a malfunction in our phone system. The problem has been addressed and we are very sorry for the inconvenience that it caused during your stay. We are truly grateful for the feedback from our guests that alerted us to the problem! We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we will have the chance to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Northern Virginia

Posted 12-Jul-2014
Pros: Close proximity to Virginia Tech, less than a ten minute drive.
Cons: The outside of the building looks a bit rundown and dirty.
Location: Very close to Virginia Tech which is why I chose it.
The location of the hotel is why I chose this particular Days Inn and I was pleased it was close to Virginia Tech. However, for what I got from the hotel, the rate should've been lower. The actual room I was in was fine, nothing too great or spectacular. But the outside of the hotel paints a different picture. It's quite dirty and the stairwell to the second floor was not well lit; I was pretty happy to be checking out the next morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Marylan

Good experience

Posted 18-Jun-2014
Pros: Comfort and easy to find and easy to get settled in.
Cons: Continental Breakfast
Location: Virginia Tech
Everything went smoothly with reservation, check-in. Room was clean and comfortable. Reasonably quiet and a good nights rest. Continental breakfast could have been a little more variety but not a major problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
9-Jul-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are thrilled to hear that your experience was good from easy reservation and to a good night's rest. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast buffet although we are disappointed that you were not impressed with the variety. Our guests are typically very pleased with our breakfast offerings and we hope that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from VA Tech Alum

OK, but nothing to write home about

Posted 1-May-2014
The staff is very friendly. The hotel was clean. And it's only minutes to downtown. But the Ritz it ain't. The only complaint I really have is that the pillows were the size of throw pillows and they were all worn out. On the plus side, on a busy weekend they were half the price of most other hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-May-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to read your kind comments on our friendly staff, clean hotel and convenient location. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the pillow selection in your guest room. We are happy to offer a variety of pillows to our guests to choose from. Should your travels permit a return visit and you find the pillows in your room do not suit you, please feel free to call the front desk to request a different pillow type. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for recommending our great value to other travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Virginia Beach, Va

Not a lot of extras, but clean and affordable

Posted 28-Apr-2014
Pros: Convenient to virginia Tech and restaurants.
Cons: Maybe a little updating, but all in all a pleasant experience
Location: Visit virginia tech, hiking
The staff was really friendly and willing to assist with any need. I was pleasantly surprised as my first impression while driving up was not great, but I would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Apr-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We want all our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. Your comments about our friendly staff, cleanliness and great value are the seal of approval on our efforts. On behalf of the entire Blacksburg Days Inn team, please consider yourself officially welcomed back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Va Beach

Excellent

Posted 21-Apr-2014
Everything in our room appeared to be brand new - carpet, bedding, granite countertops. Exterior of building is dated but room was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Apr-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at the Days Inn Blacksburg. Our entire staff is very excited about the recent upgrades, including new carpet, bedding, televisions and more and we appreciate you noting them! We hope that we have won your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Blacksburg.
1 out of 5
by John from New York

Look elsewhere....

Posted 21-Apr-2014
Pros: The staff were pleasant and tried to help you with anything you need. They just seemed under-staffed to be effective.
We stayed 2 nights. They forgot to even come and clean the room between the days. I found the place seedy and was not worth the cheap cost. Parking was also terrible and we had to park far away from our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Apr-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all feedback is welcomed as it can be used to better train our team and to enable us to achieve a higher level of guest satisfaction. Please accept our apologies that your guest room had not yet been cleaned before you returned for the day. While we strive to have all guest rooms cleaned while the guests are away from the room, it is not always possible. We are, of course, happy to clean the rooms after a guest has returned, or, as you chose, to simply replace the towels and take out trash to freshen the room. We hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations on your next visit to the Blacksburg area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

good deal, great view

Posted 14-Apr-2014
Pros: The price, the view, location to V.T.
Cons: Constuction vehicles should take up the last rows, farther away.
Location: V.T. , hiking, outdoor sports.
We always stay here when in Blacksburg. Not high end but decent. The rooms in back have a better view than any of the other hotels in the area. Still close to campus. Alwise treated well, never had a issue. Wil stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Apr-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for trusting the Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center with your hotel needs when you visit Blacksburg! Your repeated business is one of the greatest compliments you can give us and we thank you for it. We are glad you enjoy the beautiful view from our property and our convenient location. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by circus from VA

Comfortable room to stop and sleep.

Posted 7-Apr-2014
Pros: Fairly priced
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Close to main highway and VPI facilities
I just wanted a place to sleep. Very comfortable and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Apr-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center. We really appreciate your comments about our team members’ friendliness and comfortable rooms. We look forward to your next visit to Blacksburg.