Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 5-Dec-2014
Cons: They need suitcase carts so that you can roll your suitcases and personal items to your room.
I was expecting a lot more from a convention hotel. The staff were sour and did not respond to requests. Had to go to the desk to pick up requests that weren't delivered. I will never return to this hotel or recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Dec-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with candid feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments that occurred during your stay. As noted in other reviews, we are typically known for excellent service and we are very sorry to hear that this was not your experience. We want all our guests to have a great stay and we hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future as we would welcome the opportunity to replace this experience with a positive one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Attended Football Game

Posted 1-Dec-2014
Pros: The location..That's it.
Cons: Where should I begin?
This Motel is filthy. The carpet in my room was filthy. It looked like someone went to town eating a box of crackers as there were tons of crumbs all over the floor including the bathroom. The bedspread should be burned and the pillows are cinder blocks in disguise. You are better off sleeping in your car. The staff was very pleasant, I must say...
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Dec-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
While it is never easy to receive less-than-complimentary feedback, we appreciate the opportunity to apologize for your disappointing experience. We are very sorry to hear that your guest room did not meet your expectations or our own high standards. We appreciate your compliments on our staff and hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations with a future visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

I almost gave up on Days Inn!

Posted 24-Nov-2014
Dollar for dollar this was the best Days Inn. The facility was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than sufficient and fresh, with plenty of coffee. The staff was professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for your recommendation to other travelers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind comments on the cleanliness of our hotel and guest rooms, professional staff and hot, fresh, complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope we have won your loyalty!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Annapolis MD

Good location near the college.

Posted 21-Nov-2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. No traffic noise.
Cons: Cleaning the smoking rooms better!
Location: Just down the road from Virginia Tech, a good place to stay when visiting the college that is reasonably priced.
Location was good for what we needed (near VA Tech but more reasonably priced). Beds were comfortable. However, I booked a Non-Smoking room through Expedia, but when we got there ended up in a smoking room, which was AWFUL (unless you're a smoker)! They didn't have another room to put us in, even though I had called ahead and confirmed my arrival 3 hours prior (we got in late due to traffic). The smell was overpowering and I didn't sleep well. The Manager said they've had issue with Expedia because they will book a particular room without it really being cleared as available by the hotel. The Manager was very apologetic and made it right for me the next day. Otherwise the food was fair (very typical Days Inn breakfast), and soundproofing average (the walls were better than the door and window - noises from older "kids" in the parking lot outside was keeping us awake)
Comment from Hotel Management
5-Dec-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to provide us with specific feedback on your stay. We are pleased to hear that our location, just a few short miles to Virginia Tech, was convenient for your needs and that you found the beds to be comfortable. Please accept our sincere apologies that your preferred room type was not available when you checked in. I am pleased to hear that we were able to correct the situation for you promptly the next day. We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future as we would welcome the opportunity to provide you with a stay where all aspects exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom virginia

Good hotel close to VT

Posted 18-Nov-2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast, cleanliness.
Cons: The outdoor corridors, small gym and stairs to parking lot.
Location: Location is a bit isolated but short drive to Virginia Tech.
This is a decent place to stay when visiting Blacksburg. The hotel is older but our room had a new microwave and refrigerator slightly larger than is typical. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. Checkin and out was very fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Although our facility may be older, we are committed to the comfort of our guests with a high standard for cleanliness, updated amenities, a complimentary breakfast buffet and friendly, efficient service. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we did well and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time your travels bring you to the Blacksburg area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 16-Nov-2014
Not too bad for the price except heater is so loud
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. Please accept our apologies for the noise caused by the heater during your stay. I am glad that other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and appreciate your comments on the great value we offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Virginia

Days Inn Blacksburg

Posted 26-Oct-2014
Pros: Very big room, we had a King bed room/
Cons: Better separation of smoking and non smoking rooms.
Location: Minutes from Va Tech.
Hotel stay was OK. Only real issue was that we booked a non-smoking room.......the room we stayed in had the "no smoking" sign in the room, but it had obviously been smoked in,.....ALOT!!!!.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with candid feedback on your stay. While we are pleased to hear that most aspects of your stay were enjoyable, we would like to apologize for the smell of smoke in your non-smoking guest room. Unfortunately, guests will occasionally decline to honor the no smoking status of their rooms and we try to catch that failure and to deep clean the rooms sufficiently that non-smoking guests are not negatively impacted. We obviously failed in that endeavor in the room you occupied. We hope you will stay with us again soon so we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with one where all aspects exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 25-Oct-2014
Checked in very late, staff was very patient with our late checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we were happy to be of service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 24-Oct-2014
you get what you pay for low price equals low quality
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so we will have the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Blacksburg, VA.

Front desk staff awesome-room not so much.

Posted 21-Oct-2014
Room was very worn. Stains on furniture, walls, etc. Room not stocked well with coffee, (only decaf). Stayed two nights. Room was not straightened, beds left unmade, cups not replenished. One trash can out of two was left full. Very disappointed. Won't stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for caring enough to share your candid feedback on your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our “awesome” staff, but are sorry to hear of the disappointments that occurred during your stay. Our records indicate that the Do Not Disturb placard was in place for the duration of your stay. Your room was not serviced in an effort to honor this request. We are very sorry for the miscommunication that led to your disappointment. We truly hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with a superior one.