Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

I almost gave up on Days Inn!

Posted 24-Nov-2014
Dollar for dollar this was the best Days Inn. The facility was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than sufficient and fresh, with plenty of coffee. The staff was professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Annapolis MD

Good location near the college.

Posted 21-Nov-2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. No traffic noise.
Cons: Cleaning the smoking rooms better!
Location: Just down the road from Virginia Tech, a good place to stay when visiting the college that is reasonably priced.
Location was good for what we needed (near VA Tech but more reasonably priced). Beds were comfortable. However, I booked a Non-Smoking room through Expedia, but when we got there ended up in a smoking room, which was AWFUL (unless you're a smoker)! They didn't have another room to put us in, even though I had called ahead and confirmed my arrival 3 hours prior (we got in late due to traffic). The smell was overpowering and I didn't sleep well. The Manager said they've had issue with Expedia because they will book a particular room without it really being cleared as available by the hotel. The Manager was very apologetic and made it right for me the next day. Otherwise the food was fair (very typical Days Inn breakfast), and soundproofing average (the walls were better than the door and window - noises from older "kids" in the parking lot outside was keeping us awake)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom virginia

Good hotel close to VT

Posted 18-Nov-2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast, cleanliness.
Cons: The outdoor corridors, small gym and stairs to parking lot.
Location: Location is a bit isolated but short drive to Virginia Tech.
This is a decent place to stay when visiting Blacksburg. The hotel is older but our room had a new microwave and refrigerator slightly larger than is typical. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. Checkin and out was very fast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 16-Nov-2014
Not too bad for the price except heater is so loud
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Virginia

Days Inn Blacksburg

Posted 26-Oct-2014
Pros: Very big room, we had a King bed room/
Cons: Better separation of smoking and non smoking rooms.
Location: Minutes from Va Tech.
Hotel stay was OK. Only real issue was that we booked a non-smoking room.......the room we stayed in had the "no smoking" sign in the room, but it had obviously been smoked in,.....ALOT!!!!.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with candid feedback on your stay. While we are pleased to hear that most aspects of your stay were enjoyable, we would like to apologize for the smell of smoke in your non-smoking guest room. Unfortunately, guests will occasionally decline to honor the no smoking status of their rooms and we try to catch that failure and to deep clean the rooms sufficiently that non-smoking guests are not negatively impacted. We obviously failed in that endeavor in the room you occupied. We hope you will stay with us again soon so we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with one where all aspects exceed your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 25-Oct-2014
Checked in very late, staff was very patient with our late checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
3-Nov-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we were happy to be of service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 24-Oct-2014
you get what you pay for low price equals low quality
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so we will have the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Blacksburg, VA.

Front desk staff awesome-room not so much.

Posted 21-Oct-2014
Room was very worn. Stains on furniture, walls, etc. Room not stocked well with coffee, (only decaf). Stayed two nights. Room was not straightened, beds left unmade, cups not replenished. One trash can out of two was left full. Very disappointed. Won't stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for caring enough to share your candid feedback on your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our “awesome” staff, but are sorry to hear of the disappointments that occurred during your stay. Our records indicate that the Do Not Disturb placard was in place for the duration of your stay. Your room was not serviced in an effort to honor this request. We are very sorry for the miscommunication that led to your disappointment. We truly hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with a superior one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom new york

Great location. Great for price.

Posted 21-Oct-2014
Pleasant staff. Great location. Great for price. Would have preferred my room cleaned daily
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We truly appreciate your comments on our convenient location and great value! I do apologize for the oversight regarding Housekeeping services for your room during your stay. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping Team to ensure a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 19-Oct-2014
Dog barking next door Room received was smoking when requested a non smoking Sink cracked Outdated
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Oct-2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
While it is very challenging to hear that a guest's stay fell below our typical high standards for the hotel, feedback from our guests is invaluable in helping us to ensure that future guests do not encounter the same concerns. We are a pet friendly hotel and have found that the pet owners that stay with us by and large are very respectful of guests that are not traveling with pets and are happy to adhere to our pet policies which include being present with and maintaining control of their pets at all times. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Blacksburg so we can have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.