Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom CANNOCK

Mixed bag

Posted 13-Dec-2014
Pros: On the bus route. Indoor pool.
Cons: Food!
Location: You need to travel in to town to find anything
One free shuttle driver drove straight past us at stop. One shuttle driver could not understand enough English to realise that we could not phone him for a return ride. Female driver excellent and took us straight to the Amtrak train station without asking. Food at breakfast so stale I could not eat it. Every day! I am not a picky eater but they must have been putting the bread and cake out the night before it was so stale. Perhaps they purchase stale bread to cut costs as it is only for toast? Overcooked scrambled eggs and eggs and sausage ran out. No security deposit boxes. Both broken and staff obviously not bothered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

It was pleasant

Posted 2-Dec-2014
Pros: they were willing to accommodate us, in terms of not wanting to be close to all the children that were staying in the hotel.
Location: We went to the habour
We had a nice time. we like to take overnight trips and this was cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Richmond,VA

Great, will stay again

Posted 2-Dec-2014
Pros: Location very accessible to the highway. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy.
Location: Maryland Live and Horseshoe Casinos
Hotel desk staff was very friendly and professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Chicago

ok for a nights stay . Nothing great.

Posted 18-Nov-2014
It was a ok stay just good for s night. The suit were average. When I entered the room , it's was cold as a freezer. Although it was a suit , the kitchenette did not have played or cooking vessels. Cannot complain the deal I got . Better to look elsewhere . Breakfast had plastic plates . Al cheapo !! And this theme is every where. Internet is slow . During that 8 days I stayed at 3 hotels near BWI and this ranks last.
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom San antonio

Not what expected!

Posted 14-Nov-2014
This hotel is not what I expected, it is noisy once you are in the room. Rooms need renovation asap. Once you are in the hotel and don't have car, you are on your own..there is not nothing around it for you to walk outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Ottawa

Room service!

Posted 10-Nov-2014
Pros: the room were ok.
Cons: Read above!
Location: what things to do, there is nothing to do!
NO room service and restaurants around there were all mediocre, including the fancy french cuisine one. Very bad breakfast! Very bad wifi with complicated setup. There is no need for wifi passwords, just make it work. Only people in the hotel will have access to it anyway, due to wifi's inherent short distance!!! Why prompt for hotel room, last name, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travellerfrom Minnesota

Great hotel close to Inner Harbor and Airport.

Posted 28-Oct-2014
Pros: The front staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The pool hours listed open until 10 pm. We went to swim and the gal locked the door, saw us waiting and exited through a different door. Disappointing
Location: Aquarium, Inner Harbor, etc.
The hotel was in a great location to visit the Inner Harbor and the National Aquarium. Also, very close to BWI which meant not a lot of rushing in the am to get the the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 6-Oct-2014
When I booked the room for my anniversary I asked if they did anything special. Once there I walked into "rose petals" leading from the door to the bed and on the bed itself with towels as kissing swans. I was very happy with what they did and very much appreciate it. Breakfast was decent and room had some minor facilities issues (wall paper ripped up/stained, etc) But overall, good for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Oct-2014 by Jerry, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you were able to spend your anniversary with us and hope you had a wonderful time. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Waitman - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 23-Sep-2014
Overall good stay, excellent breakfast and friendly staff at the front desk.
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Virginia

Nice, but not what I reserved

Posted 21-Sep-2014
The hotel was nice. The staff was considerate. My problem was I reserved a room with 2 queen beds and got a room with a king (which was small for a king) and a pull out sofa. That size doesn't work for 2 adults and 3 kids. Plus the rate for the king was cheaper when I booked and it showed as unavailable because there were too many guests to fit. I was offered a roll away bed, but declined since the room was too small for one. So I paid more and got less. I feel I should get what I reserve and pay for, this trip I did not.
Comment from Hotel Management
7-Oct-2014 by Jerry, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do our best to provide each guest with a specific room type but that is not always possible. I have shared your comments with our front desk team so that we can work on making sure this issue does not happen in the future. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to the area. Sincerely, Jerry - Guest Services